Skip to content

Bucket List – Part 2

June 18, 2010

After much anticipation, the rest of my dating “bucket list” (as it stands now):

1.)    Have a kiss like Felicity and Ben’s first kiss. See previous post.

2.)    Have a romantic comedy first date. You know the one: lots of laughs, some awkward but endearing moments, a perfect kiss at the end (or maybe a perfect almost kiss, whichever you find more romantic), and then they both lean against the door when he drops her off at the end of the night, and you just know he’s gonna call, or she’s going to hit him up on Facebook, and while the rest of their relationship will have some funny ups and downs (a la Ross and Rachel on Friends), they end up living happily ever after in the end. You know the one!

3.)    Go speed dating. Nothing better than meeting a couple dozen men that aren’t right for me in one night. And, I’ll have plenty of stories for the blog, I’m sure, about the losers that go speed dating. Oh me? I’m not a loser, I’m doing it as a dedicated blogger.

4.)    See a matchmaker. This one will require me to fall into some money first, but I think it sounds amazingly fun.  Even more fun? Seeing the Millionaire Matchmaker. Just sayin’.

5.)    Go on a blind date. And I mean a real blind date – no Googling eachother, no Facebook stalking, no driving by their work every day to make sure they don’t seem crazy (or maybe because you actually are crazy enough to drive by their work daily). A blind date like back in the day when there were no phones, no Internet, no TV, certainly no Twitter, and a farmer from one village would set his son up with a farmer’s daughter from another village and it is a total crapshoot what you end up with. That kinda blind date.

6.)    Go on the Bachelor. How amazing would it be to hang out with a dozen or so bitchy women fighting over the same man, who no one has really had a chance to get to know halfway decently, but he’s cute enough, has a job, passed ABC’s background check, so he must be great enough to fight over his hand in marriage? Whoops … I mean (especially since I’m really considering applying LOL), how amazing would it be to find the love of your life on ABC’s The Bachelor – possibly the best show that ever existed? Watch it on ABC, Monday night at 8 p.m.  (7 central).

7.)    Think for a few minutes that I’ve found the “one.” Even though I never thought that “the one” even existed, finally meet him, have a few crazy weeks with him, neglect the blog, my friends, my life, and maybe even if I get my heart broken (again), at least feel happy that I know it’s possible to love again. Because I have no false illusions that the next guy is gonna be “the one,” but it’d be great to know that love is still possible.   

8.)    Sleep in the middle of the bed. Why still sleep on what used to be “your side” leaving the other side of the bed vast, empty and downright sad? Sleep in the middle, spread out and make it almost physically impossible for anyone to spend the night in your bed again. Especially your drunk friend who can’t drive home because she had too much wine at your house. Make her sleep on the couch. Enjoy your bed, because you too probably had way too much wine but at least you are at home, in your bed, and not on the couch.

What am I missing on my dating “bucket list”?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 2:13 pm

    You may want to rethink #7. That happened to me, and though beforehand I thought I just wanted to know it’d be possible to feel something again for someone, it freaking blows when it actually happens.

  2. June 18, 2010 2:17 pm

    OH and for the record you INSISTED I share the bed because of how comfy it is; right after you forced me to share 4 bottles of wine with you and get a speeding ticket on the way home the next day!

  3. AZc permalink
    June 19, 2010 3:58 pm

    Your blog has started excellently, fyi… to maintain the dramatic tension, I hope you immediately skip to either #3 or #6 on your list (and I hope the ABC Bachelor people have found you via Google and are watching this blog closely!).

    Of course, I now realize that ABC won’t let you blog about being on Bachelor until it’s over… maybe not even then. Better stick with #3. :)

  4. Anon permalink
    July 1, 2010 8:25 pm

    Hey girl – I got here from WB (saw your post on there) – and came over to see how you’re doing. You are really witty, upbeat and a great writer and honestly I am not worried about you eventually finding someone at ALL (put this in your previous post about annoying things people say to cheer you up – during my awful breakup I heard it a lot and wanted to smack people because seriously, how do YOU know if I’ll even meet someone?). Anyway.

    I wanted to comment because I actually had a producer from the bachelor call me last year after applying on their website :)So I submitted the full application with the tape and everything and didn’t make it, but I say go for it if you can have fun with the whole process. And ironically, I met my current beau about a month after submitting the application, so if I’d made it I would have had to break up with him to go (which I wouldn’t have). So you never know what can happen!

    Good luck :)

    • July 1, 2010 9:29 pm

      Thank you for checking my blog out! Also thanks so much for your kind words, they made me laugh out loud. And, you are right, it’s hard to really believe right now that I’m gonna find someone, but it’s nice to hear that someone out there is at least optimistic (I’m sure not! haha). As for the Bachelor… ahhh, maybe I’ll make a tape. Still need to find someone with a video camera and the patience to deal with a prima donna like me haha!

  5. 2blu2btru permalink
    August 4, 2010 8:07 pm

    This list is so daring. I have been speed dating…I am not a person who makes speedy connections or decisions on people, so it was a big waste of time romantically, but my friend and I had such fun dissecting guys afterwards!

    The closest I want to get to a matchmaker is watching Patty Stinger (?) on Millionaire Matchmaker, and avoiding my aunts when any viable (or not viable) male comes by.

    Blind dates scare me hideously. I would hate for a guy to take one look at me and watch his face fall if I wasn’t what he was expecting. Or try to be nice when I’m clearly not attracted to him.

    Now that I’m a part of a couple and an old fogey at the dating game, going back out there would terrify me. Good luck with your list.

    Thanks for the comment!

    • August 5, 2010 9:42 pm

      That’s funny – you are the first person I’ve met that has actually done speed dating! I definitely am AMAZING at making speedy decisions about people (in non speed dating contexts people may call me judgemental, haha), so I think I can handle that part. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to handle the part where I pick a couple of guys from the speed dating and they don’t pick me back!!

      You are right about the Millionaire Matchmaker. It would be so fun to go on that show! I think it would be better if you were actually the millionaire being set up, instead of one of the many girls. So, next steps, I’m going to become a millionaire, and then go on the show. I’m on it.

      I definitely hear you about the blind date. It would be so sad if the guy just turned around and left! Thank goodness my first one went well :).

      Thanks so much for your comment! Enjoy being part of a couple – I definitely envy you! :)

  6. April 11, 2011 6:59 am

    Great ideas but you need more “you” activivites! Part of the joy of being single is discovering yourself, your likes/dislikes etc :)

Trackbacks

  1. Blind Date « Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  2. Culturally Inept « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,193 other followers

