Skip to content

New World of Dating: 2003 vs. 2010

June 21, 2010

As I’m getting ready to dive into this vast world of dating, I’m starting to reminisce about the last time I was on the market. Picture it: July 2003. I’m an impressionable young woman just coming out of high school and heading to VCU. A few months ago, President Bush declared Mission Accomplished in Iraq (amazing huh?). Finding Nemo was just coming out of theaters (unrelated, but hey that was a good movie) and Martha Stewart has been indicted for her little SEC violation. Oh, the world was so much simpler then. Some other things that have changed since I was 18 and dating:

  1. I can drink now. Without a fake ID, that is. Wonder if this will impact the kind of guys I hit on at the bar? Beer goggles, and all.  
  2. Facebook. Hell, I hadn’t even heard of MySpace in 2003, and since then MySpace has come on gone, and now we’ve got Facebook. Facebook provides the perfect opportunity to find out if all those crushes from your past are single. Or, to get depressed as one by one those b**ches from high school (you know the ones) are getting married. And, what in the world does it mean when you meet a guy and he friends you on Facebook instead of calling? What’s the protocol? And, let’s just be honest: the opportunities for cyber stalking on Facebook are out of control. Just saying – and don’t judge, you know you’ve done it too.  
  3. Googling someone is a totally different experience. In 2003, I would Google a guy here or there, but for the most part, you didn’t find much of anything. Google someone now, you’ll find his Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and old MySpace accounts, along with his criminal history, third cousin who has a weird blog about the multiple uses of bacon and possibly a sex offender with the same name (well, you certainly hope it’s not the same person, but hmm, from the mug shot they do look a little similar!). It’s overwhelming.
  4. Texting. Does anyone call anymore? I mean good Lord, pick up the phone! Texting has taken over my cell phone and my entire life. I am definitely going to get some kind of carpel tunnel from using my Blackberry so much. Maybe I’m old fashioned, but I would just love for a guy to call me for a date. Enough with the text messages.
  5. Sexting! Oh Lordy. CNN was not playing around, this is an epidemic! While it can be fun, it can also be a little dangerous, especially when there is wine involved. Must proceed with caution.
  6. College guys aren’t hot to me anymore. In 2003, I found college guys older, more mature and sexy. Now? They are immature drunks who play way too much beer pong. And no, it’s not hot that you are in your fifth year of college and still haven’t declared a major.
  7. Meeting for a drink. Someone I work with mentioned this one. With the prevalence of online dating, people don’t go on real dates anymore, it seems. Instead, you meet for a drink, or coffee, just to figure out A: if they are as hot as the picture they posted and B: if they are a crazy person. Usually the answer is no, not nearly as hot as the picture and yes, crazy enough that you now wish you had not added them as a Facebook friend prior to hanging out and you are trying to figure out your escape plan before you end up in a body bag.
  8. Hickeys aren’t even remotely cool anymore. I gotta admit, at 18, getting a hickey was kind of fun. I mean, obviously I knew they were a little skanky, but they still had a bit of an allure to them. If I showed up with a hickey to work today, I should be shot. Adults don’t do hickeys.
  9. That tattoo I got at 18? Not so cool anymore. And, apparently, somewhere along the line, someone started to call them tramp stamps. Awesome.

I almost added to this list that I’m no spring chicken anymore, but to be honest I still look about 16 and often get carded for R rated movies, so I’m less worried about that. However, I will say, my sister is convinced she found a gray hair on me today. Cue my quarter life crisis.

What else has changed since 2003?


18 Comments leave one →
  1. natasha permalink
    June 21, 2010 1:54 am

    lol! Best yet!

  2. June 21, 2010 1:55 am

    Wikipedia got popular. Now, when you go on a date, you can uncover their interests via Facebook and Wiki some background info. Then, you can sound like an archery or bocce ball expert.

    • June 21, 2010 3:12 pm

      Haha – good call on this one! Totally forgot about Wikipedia. Wikipedia definitely creates a world in which we can become smart on something really fast in order to impress a date :). You also made me think of Foursquare… if someone you are interested in is using it, you can “coincidentally” show up where they just checked in. That’s not technically stalking, is it?

  3. amanda bohling permalink
    June 21, 2010 2:14 am

    I love reading your blogs, they really make my day! Great job girl.

  4. June 21, 2010 1:00 pm

    Number three is my favorite the mug shot comment classic!

  5. I rock campers. permalink
    June 21, 2010 1:02 pm

    First let me say that I love that you have a tramp stamp. I think you covered most of the changes since 2003. I do want to give a shout out to HD TV though, I love you. That is all.

  6. debra settles permalink
    June 22, 2010 12:33 am

    i swear you are one of the best writers I know..i too enjoy reading them! I still think the idea that both natasha and i must have left items in moms belly and you picked them so hold true!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love you!!!!!!!!!

    • June 23, 2010 1:52 am

      LOL … thank you, but you and Tasha have other qualities I’d love to have! Love you guys. Appreciate your keeping up with my blog and commenting!!

  7. Dana permalink
    June 23, 2010 11:30 pm

    Damn. I have the tramp stamp AND not only a Chinese symbol (that more than likely means “poo” rather than “loyalty”), but I got matching tats with the ex. Ugh.

    • June 23, 2010 11:47 pm

      LOL … Hey, we should totally make the tramp stamp cool again. On the matching tat, that sucks! But hey it’s a reminder to never let some guy do you wrong again! And for him, it’s a reminder of all he lost when he lost you. Lame, I know. 🙂

  8. Anon permalink
    July 1, 2010 8:29 pm

    You seriously are hilarious!!

    I did online dating for 5 years (between 25 and 30) and trust me you’ll appreciate the non-date drink/coffee after a few dates – it’s more so you can rule HIM out than the other way around. Sorry guys, she’s hot and smart, that’s just the way it’s gonna be!

  9. Michelle permalink
    July 2, 2010 1:15 pm

    This isn’t really related to your post, but I went to VCU, too!

  10. Michelle permalink
    July 3, 2010 8:37 pm

    2008. We may have passed each other in the Commons.

Trackbacks

  1. Ghosts of Boyfriends Past (Part 2) « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  2. Culturally Inept « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey

Leave a Reply

