Skip to content

The Chef: Part 1

August 1, 2010

A while back, while planning an event for work, I was introduced to Chef, who owns a local bar/restaurant and caters on the side. Engaged at the time, I found him nice and cute, and briefly considered hooking him up with a friend. I basically didn’t think of him again, except that when he catered our event, I definitely loved the food – so much so that I snagged some leftover roast beef and ate it for about a week straight.

After the breakup, I started discussing Chef with a mutual friend. I found out that he was single, a really nice guy and apparently great with children (so I’m a terrible cook and equally terrible with children so maybe he could be the ying to my yang). My friend and I discussed that when I was ready to date again, we would go by his bar for drinks, some innocent flirting and we would see what happened.

Well, a few months later, my mutual friend told her husband about my (smallish) crush, who then told Chef. Who then cyberstalked me (oh, but in a cute way) on Facebook and this blog, and wrote me one of the best e-mails I’ve probably ever received (and the subject line of the e-mail was “Your blog is hilarious…” so he definitely knows flattery is a girl’s best friend). He has since admitted that he stressed out over that e-mail, checking and double checking the spelling and punctuation. Which I think is cute. He must have picked up that I’m a grammar snob.

In the e-mail, he said that he’d like to take me out sometime. I waited awhile to e-mail him back (make him sweat a little – haha, just kidding, there’s no way I’m that cool, I was just busy at work). In my e-mail back, I told him just how much I loved that roast beef, and that if he ever wants to get me flowers, he should just bring me roast beef instead, to which he replied, “As soon as I can figure out how to send roast beef wrapped in tissue paper with baby’s breath, you will be the first to receive it.” He gets my humor. I like him. After e-mailing back and forth a few times, we decided to meet the following week.

Two nights before our big date, he called me to finalize all the details. And then we talked. At first, I was surfing the Internet and watching TV while talking with him. At some point, I put the TV on mute and closed my computer, and we talked some more. My phone started to die so I had to plug it in in the bedroom. We continued talking. At some point, we got disconnected, and when I looked at my phone, I realized we had been on the phone for more than four hours. At close to the five hour mark, in the wee hours of the morning, we finally got off the phone. It was a really fun conversation; I probably did a fair amount of oversharing (but I’m finding maybe that’s just my style). I haven’t had a conversation like that since high school, when I first met my ex fiancée. I learned a lot about him on this call: his love for Mac computers, mechanical pencils with an appropriate lead diameter and his 12 year old cat, along with his aversion to eating fish (but he enjoys cooking it, interestingly enough). He learned that I’m violently allergic to cats, and that this relationship is already not going to work. But, I digress, we were still planning on going on a date before we break up over the cat.

Next time, I’ll tell you how the date went.


9 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn permalink
    August 1, 2010 12:16 am

    I bet the cat isn’t as snuggly as sebastian though, lol. Left me wanting more…you are getting the hang of that!

    • August 1, 2010 12:20 am

      Haha, thanks Dawn! And yes, Sebastian is quite snuggly. Especially after I’ve taken two Benadryls and am passed the hell out! 🙂

  2. debra settles permalink
    August 1, 2010 2:35 am

    okay when is the next episode airing??? I can’t wait to read the rest! How did it go, did you start sneezing as soon as you hugged him? lol

  3. John permalink
    August 1, 2010 3:46 am

    i’m on the edge of my seat

  4. Dana permalink
    August 1, 2010 1:57 pm

    I feel like I need a physical description to better envision the new potential boyfriend 😉

  5. Sophie permalink
    November 7, 2011 5:49 pm

    The email/phonecall has to be the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard (that actually happened and wasn’t from one those zillion romcoms I have stored away here).

    This guy sounds great! 🙂

    • November 12, 2011 7:26 pm

      He is such a great guy, thanks. 🙂 They do exist! (Shocking, I know. Haha)
      Thanks for reading. Whenever someone comments on an old post it’s so fun to be reminded of the past!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend at the Lake (Meet the Parents) « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  2. Cat Lady « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey

Leave a Reply

