Skip to content

In Other Things You Never Thought Would Happen…

September 15, 2010

In other things you never thought would happen …

Single Ryan messaged me on Facebook last night. Remember Single Ryan? I hit on him for about 30 seconds at the race on Friday. I have no creative name for him because all I know is that he is single and his name is Ryan. This is the epitome of crazytown. After SPO never called me, I definitely felt like my reckless flirting was pointless (but incredibly fun).

Single Ryan said:

Hey. So, you gave me your card with your name on it and I found you here on Facebook. I hope that’s not cyber-stalking (is it?). Anyways, when I finally got back home I thought I might just see if you are on here, and to my pleasant surprise you are. And then I saw your blog, which is very fascinating reading. If I had more time I would read it all. I think it is great how, if your life were a movie, you would be such an unforgettable character. You have a way with words that is much better than anything I can write. I still wasn’t sure, though, if you were really serious. I thought you might have been trying to make the caped crusader guy jealous. Then I read about Single Ryan. I would love to talk sometime. I will be honest, I work full-time and I have finally returned to college to finish my degree. I am writing this as I take a break from a very boring article about the difference between propaganda and persuasion. Some days I just can’t find enough time, which just happens to be the case this week. So, until then,
Ryan

He also added me as a friend on Facebook. I wrote him back. I am not going to check out his page to get to know him – I hate that. My friend Lindsay pointed out to me how it’s no fun to learn about someone new on Facebook, it takes away all the mystery. You should get to know them in person, on the phone, even text. Just not Facebook. So I’m following Lindsay’s Law this time. We’ll see what happens.

Someone with which I recklessly flirted actually came through. I guess stranger things have happened. Since he knows about the blog, let’s just hope this post doesn’t completely scare him away. I hesitated to post his message, but I thought it was really well written and I appreciated what he had to say. It was definitely a good intro. Much better than my introduction to him, that’s for sure!

And that’s all for now …


18 Comments leave one →
  1. natasha permalink
    September 15, 2010 8:56 am

    ‘Caped Crusader Guy’ lol – priceless

  2. September 15, 2010 10:11 am

    “if your life were a movie, you would be such an unforgettable character”

    Duh! 😉

    • September 15, 2010 10:16 am

      Haha, I loved that line!

      • September 15, 2010 3:26 pm

        I’m stealing this from The Frisky, but I also like the line, “you can’t always be the hero in your own movie. Sometimes, you have to be the villain in someone else’s movie….” 😉

        • September 16, 2010 12:13 am

          That’s a good line, thanks for sharing. And I would even venture to say, sometimes you are a villian in your own movie … there’s gonna be a time that I do something downright wrong that I’ll have to admit on the blog. I mean, we’re all human. Guys can’t always be wrong (mostly, just not always. haha jk). That should be an interesting day…

  3. September 15, 2010 10:27 am

    Hhmmm…you’re too nice. This guy seems like a cheese dick. He could be nice, but yes, he needs to stop cyber stalking you (on Facebook and on your blog) and actually call you for dinner. That’s what real men do.

    -L

    • September 15, 2010 11:17 am

      Tell me what you really think! LOL. I don’t mind the Facebook at all…considering I didn’t really make a great impression on him (not really a bad impression, just not much of one at all because I basically just accosted him and quickly gave him my card) and he didn’t even ask for it. I’ll take any contact at all at this point. Agree though, at some point if he wants to hang out he’d have to call or ask me out, especially considering so far I’ve done all the work.

  4. September 15, 2010 1:36 pm

    haha..good one..ur blogs are interesting

    http://nothingexistswithtime.wordpress.com/

    • September 15, 2010 1:49 pm

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting! Can’t wait to check out your blog.

  5. Ghetto_Philosopher permalink
    September 15, 2010 3:52 pm

    I have to say that as far as first impressions go, this dude looks pretty good right now. I think he had a good start. Well played, man.

  6. September 15, 2010 4:50 pm

    Speaking on behalf of we who follow your blog: I don’t think we’re surprised that he got in touch with you – don’t forget: you’re awesome!

    • September 16, 2010 12:16 am

      Do you hear that sound, Matt? That is the sound of your comment being heralded in the streets as the best and nicest comment of all time. Thank you 🙂

  7. September 15, 2010 6:41 pm

    Wow! Great job! I never dare to recklessly flirt like that. I guess I’m too afraid of rejection. But this post has inspired me!

    • September 15, 2010 11:59 pm

      Thank you! Rejection does suck, but if you approach it like “What do I have to lose? So what if they reject me? I don’t really know them anyway, so it’s not REALLY rejection!” then it’s not as big of a deal (to me anyway). Now, ask me to hit on someone I actually know well and have something to lose, that’s a whole other story…

      Look forward to seeing you recklessly flirt soon 🙂

  8. September 16, 2010 8:14 am

    That’s awesome! Don’t see anything wrong with him contacting you on FB, you could have always said no/rejected the invite. Hopefully things go well here on out, who knows? Keep us posted!

    • September 16, 2010 9:33 am

      I agree on the FB contact. Will definitely keep you updated!

Leave a Reply

