Skip to content

Catherine Takes On Halloween: Part 1

November 1, 2010
Here’s the thing that I just realized this past month: I don’t actually know if I like Halloween. Seriously. For years, I’ve believed I didn’t like it – but neither did my ex fiancée. So it made more sense for us to hate Halloween together. To not dress up together, to not go to Halloween parties together. For years, I have passively enjoyed the holiday, watching everyone else dress in costumes and go to parties, while I mostly enjoyed the free candy and felt smug while everyone else froze their butts off in their skimpy Halloween costumes and I was nice and warm in a hoodie and jeans. But this Halloween was different. This year, I wanted to find out – do I really hate Halloween? Or could Halloween become a holiday I enjoyed? Could I possibly be one of those crazy people who – gasp – actually look forward to October 31? So this year, I reclaimed Halloween. I did up Halloween like it was my job. And frankly, I’m exhausted.

In the next two posts, I’m going to share with you the eight things I did this year to take on Halloween.

#1 DRESSED UP

First step: First of all, I opened my mind to the possibility of dressing up. I didn’t want to force myself to dress in costume, but I wanted it to be an option this year. Sure, I’ve dressed up over the years, but these times were few and far between. While talking about the possibility of dressing up, my boss said to me, “You should be a bumble bee!” To which, I freaked out and decided I could totally be a bumble bee. I wonder, now, if I was just susceptible to ideas, and he could have said anything. “You should be a vampire!” “You should be a witch!” “You should be an alien!” “You should be a massage therapist known for her happy endings!” I don’t know if I would have gotten quite so excited about those suggestions. But when he said I should be a bumble bee, I was sold.

Second step: Find a suitable bumble bee costume. Now, I didn’t want to be just a bumble bee. I wanted to be a sexy/slutty bumble bee. I know it’s probably a slap in the face of feminism, but damn it, this year I am not engaged. This year I am not seven years into a relationship (with a guy that didn’t appreciate it when I showed the goods to the world). This year, I’m 25 years old and soon (if not already), I’ll be too old to dress ridiculously. This year I was going to be sexy.

I searched online, and very briefly considered making a costume. And then I remembered that I am in no way crafty enough to make a costume. Instead, I headed to the costume store with Chef.

And a side note here, I loved that Chef encouraged me to dress up. Just sayin’.

At said costume store, I found a sexy bumble bee costume that worked for me. Here it is (on a model, not me, I wish!). And note, I had to buy an extra “extender” skirt, because there was no way I was leaving the house in the costume’s skirt alone.

Bumble bee costume, costume, sexy bumble bee

Photo courtesy of Mr. Costumes

Third step: Find the courage to wear the costume in public and have a hell of a time. This required that I wear it on neutral ground, where I knew lots of people and would have less judgment than a party full of strangers. That place was the lake. I got some encouragement from my family and friends, as well as some liquid courage, and went out in the bumble bee costume. I laughed at how ridiculous I looked for hours, didn’t feel like myself at all and overall had an incredibly fun time. Even though I looked like a ho.

Fourth step: Find the courage to post pictures on the blog. And, here they are. This was not an easy step, considering I HATE pictures of myself.

Me in my Halloween costume. Wow, that skirt is still short.

Me in my bumble bee costume. And yes, the red purse is mine. It totally clashes with the costume!

 

 

 

bumble bee costume

Me again in my costume. Man, I loved wearing wings.

 

 

 

Self portrait of me and Chef. He's in costume too! The mask was called "Stan the Man."

#2 PAINTED PUMPKINS

Remember how I said I’m not crafty? Well, this year, I channeled my inner Martha Stewart and got crafty. We had pumpkin painting event at work, and I went to town on my pumpkin. Granted, I got a little frustrated when I didn’t know how to glue poof balls to pipe cleaners (I must have missed all the arts and crafts in school, because frankly I’m clueless). And, my coworkers hated on my pumpkin quite a bit, and called it ugly (boo coworkers J ). But here’s the pumpkin I painted. I named him Hank and gave him to Chef as a gift. And proceeded to tag the pumpkin as Chef on Facebook. Because I thought it was funny.

My painted pumpkin named Hanke

Meet Hank, my painted pumpkin that I subsequently gave to Chef as a gift.

#3 LEARNED HOW TO SPELL PUMPKIN

This Halloween, I learned how to correctly spell pumpkin. Um, who knew that pumpkin had two “p”s? I have been saying it like pumkin for years, not really saying the second “p.” It was a silent “p” to me. I’m an idiot.

Next time, I’ll tell you about the other five things I did this year to take on Halloween.


52 Comments leave one →
  1. Lost in France permalink
    November 1, 2010 10:01 am

    great to get in to the spirit of it all, and I for one think you really pulled the whole bumble bee thing off.

    I have one question, for all women really, when ever it is fancy dress, it has to be Sexy, be it a nun, bumble bee or vampire.

    Just for the records I am not complaining, but what happend to years of femanismn?

    Also that has to be the woorlds smallest pumpkin you chose to decorate.

    • November 1, 2010 3:21 pm

      Lost: Aww, thanks. Appreciate your kind words.

      Now the years of feminism…I guess it depends on what school you are in. I like to claim I’m in the feminist school in which I can own my sexuality and do with it what I please. I am not required to conform to stereotypes, but as long as I am AWARE and make a conscious CHOICE to still do things that might be slightly demeaning or are traditional gender conforms, then I’m owning my sexuality and my decisions. I’m not being forced into a witch costume, because women are always witches. Sexy witches at that. But this year, I really wanted to throw all that crap out of the window and just dress crazy, and have a good time. Which I did! I can live (ish) with the potential points I lost on the feminist front.

      LOL on the pumpkin. I know, it was pretty tiny. That’s why we painted pumpkins, not carved them. Can you imagine carving such a small pumpkin? LOL

      • November 2, 2010 8:29 pm

        So with you on being a feminist and dressing like a ho on Halloween 🙂

        • November 2, 2010 9:27 pm

          Haha, good to hear I have a partner in crime!!

  2. Deb permalink
    November 1, 2010 10:05 am

    Remember when you were about….10 and we had first moved to Drum, you fell off the monkey bars and fractured your leg? You went as a witch, and I had to walk around holding your broom and candy bag because you were on crutches? That’s a long cry from your sexy bumble bee costume! LOL I love you!

    • November 1, 2010 3:17 pm

      Deb: Haha, yeah I remember that!! Good memory. Wow, how things have changed. Thanks for taking me trick-or-treating… that broken leg could have ruined Halloween completely! Damn monkey bars. Who falls off of monkey bars and breaks something anyway??

  3. November 1, 2010 11:35 am

    Love the costume!!!! You look fabulous and its not too short at all. Very hot and sexy bumblebee

    • November 1, 2010 3:16 pm

      Thank you, Beth! Appreciate it. It’s funny, first time posting pictures of myself on the blog, and I’m in such a get up 🙂

  4. November 1, 2010 12:36 pm

    I love the bee costume! And I’m with you. Gotta wear the short skirt costumes while we still can!

    • November 1, 2010 3:15 pm

      thoughtsappear: Thank you! I know, I think my clock is ticking on these types of costumes. I’ve got two years, at the most, to participate. Then in my early 40s I can go through a mid life crisis and revisit. 🙂

  5. natasha permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:01 pm

    If a bumblebee had a face, I’d imagine it would look just like you! 🙂

  6. Lost in France permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:42 pm

    Think it would have been keyhole surgery to carve that pumpkin.

    Also as far as I am concern, keep the sexy insects coming.

    • November 1, 2010 10:27 pm

      Done and done. Next year, another sexy insect. I’m not sure you can pull off a sexy cockroach or anything (eww) but maybe a sexy lady bug is in my future?

  7. November 1, 2010 4:21 pm

    The buzz is in: that’s a honey of a costume!

    I’m going to quit with the bee-related puns before I break out into hives or something.

    OK, now I’m quitting.

    Great pic, and your costume was sexy but not too sexy. Glad you were able to reclaim Halloween this year. I’m inspired to do the same, next year.

    • November 1, 2010 10:26 pm

      LOL – I didn’t expect all the bee-related puns in the comments but they all crack me up! 🙂

      Thanks for the kind words. Good to hear a guy say it wasn’t too much. It FELT like too much, for sure! I’ll hold you to that – next year, I want you to dress up as a sexy bumble bee. Eerrr, I want you to celebrate and reclaim Halloween 🙂

  8. Matt79 permalink
    November 1, 2010 5:20 pm

    Cool costume! Halloween’s not such a big thing in England – some kids dress up but very few adults. We’re missing out!

    • November 1, 2010 10:24 pm

      Yeah, you guys are definitely missing out. It’s like the only night of the year that girls feel pressure when they DON’T dress up as hos. 🙂 lol, jk. But it is a lot of fun. Thanks for the comment 🙂

  9. irispandia permalink
    November 1, 2010 6:22 pm

    It sounds like things are buzzing along brilliantly for you! I’m glad to hear the visit to the lake went well, that you said the “L” word when YOU were ready for it, and that you decided to give Halloween a fair try. The costume is adorable and you totally pulled it off. Congratulations on all the new firsts!

    • November 1, 2010 10:23 pm

      Irispandia: Things are “buzzing” around great, lol. Nice pun. I appreciate your kind words, was a little stressed posting these pics this morning!!

  10. November 1, 2010 7:28 pm

    Hey so dunno why you hate piccys of yourself miss, coz you make a gorgeous little (sexy) bumble bee. Proud of your dressing up! We also dressed up here in little ol’ NZ. I was a Viking babe (sexy) and my friends made themselves into a gang of pumpkins called the pumpkin patch (complete with farmer).

    • November 1, 2010 10:23 pm

      Caity, aww thank you. That’s very sweet. A viking? HOT! 🙂 The pumpkin patch is pretty cute idea too. I like that a lot for a group idea!

  11. Millie Turner (Mom) permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:31 pm

    Loved the pics and cant wait for next year

  12. November 1, 2010 8:01 pm

    Yaaay, Catherine!! 1. Bumbles bees are hot. 2. You are hot. 3. The combination is super hot! Hallowe’en is awesome- pleased to hear you had fun!

    • November 1, 2010 10:21 pm

      Haha, thank you Alexia. That’s so sweet. I did have a blast!

  13. November 1, 2010 8:48 pm

    haha awesome! looks like you both had so much fun!

  14. November 1, 2010 9:00 pm

    You look soooooo pretty!

    • November 1, 2010 10:21 pm

      Aw, thank you! That means a lot – not a fan of these pictures, actually. LOL 🙂

  15. November 1, 2010 9:03 pm

    How could you possibly not love Halloween!? Free candy has universal appeal. You’ve got a great costume by the way. 🙂

    • November 1, 2010 10:20 pm

      Thank you! You are right, free candy is definitely an up side of Halloween. I didn’t give it the credit it was due 🙂

  16. BeneathTheSpinLight permalink
    November 2, 2010 1:30 am

    You looked adorable! I’m glad you got to participate in Halloween shenanigans. This year I wrote two papers, sat inside wearing sweats, and watched horror movies but I still love Halloween. I hope you’ve discovered that you do too. I guess I’ll have to wait for Part Two!

    • November 2, 2010 11:19 am

      Thank you! Hard to pull off that costume, for sure 🙂
      Sorry that you had to stay home this year – but hope your papers turned out great! I didn’t watch any horror moveis – boo – but definitely enjoyed some other Halloween-related activities. Definitely check out part two either Wednesday or Thursday (I haven’t exactly finished writing it… LOL!)

  17. November 2, 2010 3:43 pm

    Girl, you totally pulled off the costume. And don’t worry – looks like you still have several solid years of slutty costume wearability ahead of you. 😉

    • November 2, 2010 9:29 pm

      Thank you!! Appreciate it 🙂 Good to know on my several solid years of slutty costume wearability left…I just got back into it, would be sad to have it taken away so soon, haha!

  18. Dana permalink
    November 2, 2010 6:13 pm

    Mad props for rocking that! There’s no chance my chubby ass would have even attempted that!!

    • November 2, 2010 9:28 pm

      Thanks girl. My chubby ass just got really drunk and pretended it didn’t matter. Until I looked at a million pictures and could hardly find any I liked, LOL 🙂

  19. Pete H. permalink
    November 4, 2010 1:07 am

    I think something missing here is the fact that your boss deserves a lot of credit. His bumblebee suggestion was definitely on the money! I hope you take his advice (whatever it is) again next year. 😉

    • November 4, 2010 2:34 pm

      Ahh, good point. Definitely will give my boss more credit. And he’s my go-to guy for costume advice next year 🙂

  20. November 5, 2010 3:08 pm

    You did not look like a ho–a little cleavage never hurt anyone! 🙂

    • November 7, 2010 9:59 pm

      Thank you Maggie 🙂 There was a lot-a cleavage. I just showed you the pics that hid most of it. LOL 🙂

  21. November 7, 2010 9:31 pm

    You look smokin hot! In the event that you should need a bag to match a future Halloween costume hit me up. I feel confidently that I can accessorize just about anything with my current holdings…

    We have more in common than I think. I spent most of Halloween wondering how I could have ever been in a relationship with a man who doesn’t dress up.

    p.s. I was 80’s Madonna

    • November 7, 2010 10:00 pm

      Thank you! I will definitely hit you up if I ever need a matching bag. 🙂

      Did your fiancee not dress up? It’s so annoying if someone doesn’t want to dress up and you want to. Kill joy. Love the 80’s Madonna. You should post pics on the blog 🙂

  22. November 14, 2010 12:27 pm

    So cute! I love bee costumes and you totally rocked it! And you are really photogenic and pretty – so I don’t know why you don’t like pictures of yourself. Glad Halloween was fun.

    • November 14, 2010 4:54 pm

      Thank you! That’s so sweet. To be fair, you guys only see like one out of the 100 pictures I take – the other 99 are awful! haha 🙂
      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  23. Super Denny permalink
    November 16, 2010 12:04 pm

    That’s quite the bee costume. Very impressive.

    Anyone wearing a cape when you were out on the town?

    • November 16, 2010 5:01 pm

      Super Denny:
      Thank you :).
      Nope, no capes in VA. I think they are mostly in the Mid-West 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Catherine Takes On Halloween: Part 2 « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  2. My Attempt At St. Patrick’s Day « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  3. Better Off Undead « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  4. Costume Winners: Your Cheese Awaits | Thoughts Appear

Leave a Reply

