Skip to content

Catherine Takes On Halloween: Part 2

November 3, 2010

This is the second of two posts where I’m detailing what I did this year to take on Halloween. It’s also part two of my quest to find out if I actually even like Halloween. If you haven’t already, catch up on part 1 here, where I dressed up (or actually, undressed, considered I was very scantily clad), painted pumpkins and learned how to spell pumpkin.

Here’s the rest of the things I did this year to take on Halloween:

#4 OOHED AND AWWWED OVER CHILDREN COSTUMES

This year, I spent a fair amount of time being obsessed with how cute the kids looked in their Halloween costumes. On Facebook or in person, I couldn’t get enough of little Spider Mans and Tinker Bells. And, in case you didn’t notice, I’m not quite the kid person. But damn, the kids looked cute this year. They also made my clock tick so loud that I was certain everyone could hear it. 

At the lake, my mom gave out fruit snacks and Play-Doh to trick-or-treaters. I think that was a half-win. I’m not a fan of the fruit snacks but can you imagine how fun it would be to get Play-Doh while trick-or-treating? Way cool.

Glazed doughnut, homemade doughnut

Yum. Photo courtesy of Shawn Medero

On another note, my favorite thing I ever got while trick-or-treating was homemade doughnuts. I remember in the fifth or sixth grade, this one family fried doughnuts, dipped them in glaze and handed them out warm with hot chocolate. Those were simpler times; I’m not sure I’d let my kids eat doughnuts (no matter how amazing they looked) from a stranger’s house now-a-days.

My least favorite thing I ever got while trick-or-treating? In upstate New York, this Southern Baptist family handed out miniature comic books. In the comic books, there were stories of trick-or-treaters that were going to hell for celebrating Halloween. It showed hand drawn pictures of children in costumes surrounded by flames, burning. This one incident resulted in me having an irrational fear of Baptists for years, until I met one of my closest friends in the ninth grade and found out she was Baptist. I learned through her that not all Baptists are crazy, after all. But I’ll never forget that comic book. Isn’t that creepy?

#5 OOHED AND AWWWED OVER ADULT COSTUMES

Generally, I don’t pay much attention to adult’s costumes. People who are dressed up really don’t faze me. Most times, I hardly even notice them. But this year, I laughed over costumes, including plenty of Lady Gagas, a couple who dressed up as s’mores and a happy camper, a couple of Katie Perrys and lots of Chilean Miners, wearing Oakleys and all. It’s so fun to see how creative people can be on Halloween (certainly more creative than my bumble bee costume!).

This year, I also saw something I’d never seen before: people dressing up as each other. Chef dressed up like the bartender at his restaurant, and one Chef’s customers dressed up as Chef. For the record, I do not think I could handle someone dressing up as me. That is just a minefield for getting my feelings hurt. But props to people who can handle it without crying over candy corn and fun-size Snickers.

#6 WENT TO THREE PARTIES

Oh yeah, I went to three Halloween parties this year. First, the party at the lake the weekend before Halloween. Second, the president of my company’s party Saturday night. And third, another party at Chef’s restaurant Saturday night. This all left me a little Halloweened out by the time the 31st came.

Now, I’ll admit that I only wore the bumble bee costume to one of these three parties. And you can probably guess why. That costume is, um, pretty revealing. I didn’t think it would be completely appropriate to wear it to the president’s party, nor did I want to wear to Chef’s restaurant. I think it was a good decision to not wear the costume to those parties. But, I do think it’s pretty funny that I’ve posted these pictures online, on a public blog that my coworkers read. That feels different and less inappropriate, although I’m not sure why!

#7 WENT TO A HAUNTED HOUSE

A bunch of us, including my sister, mom, step dad and some friends, all went to a haunted house tour on Friday night. It was a friggin’ blast. I’m not usually easily scared, but at the beginning of the tour, there was a “zombie attack.” When I saw the first zombie, I honestly didn’t even know the haunted house/tour festivities had begun. I thought were just walking to our destination. Um, not the case. Suddenly there were zombies outside the fence, panting and looking like they would just love to bite the hell out of me. Quite alarming.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but you should know that I love zombie movies. Dawn of the Dead, I Am Legend, 28 Days Later, I love them all. In fact, I pride myself on my deep knowledge of zombies. I’ve always thought I’m the kind of girl you want around in a zombie attack. I’ve even read The Zombie Survival Guide. Well, fast forward to me going to a haunted house where there is a simulated zombie attack. I almost peed my pants. Literally. It was about the scariest thing I’ve ever experienced. It was a BLAST.

Here’s a pic of my mom and me on one of many bathroom trips that night. All night long we went to the bathroom together like we were best friends in high school. One of said trips included us crammed in a porta-potty together. It was so fun.

picture of my mother and me

Picture of mom and me before the haunted house on one of our many team bathroom trips

After the haunted house, the entire crew went to Chef’s restaurant. It was so weird bringing my parents to his restaurant to eat, have drinks and watch a band.

One of our friends remarked to me, “I like Chef’s restaurant.”

To which I said, “Thanks.” As though it were my restaurant. And then I laughed at myself. It’s kind of like when someone says they think your boyfriend is cute, your sister is funny, your daughter is smart. Suddenly you find yourself saying thanks, but you aren’t exactly sure why or what the appropriate response is, because it’s not like you can take ownership for those things. It was pretty funny.

#8 ATE A CARAMEL APPLE

As part of the haunted house, there was a haunted trail. On the trail, there were porta-potties and a place to buy snacks. I bought a hot chocolate and caramel apple. Um, I cannot tell you the last time I ate a caramel apple. It was delicious and perfect. It screamed fall and Halloween. Best $2.50 I’ve spent in a while. Actually, I borrowed the money from my step father and haven’t given it back to him yet. So it’s the best $2.50 I haven’t spent in a while.

Caramel apples

Hmmm, caramel and candy apples. Photo courtesy of Randy von Liski

So, the question now is, do I actually like Halloween? Weirdly enough, I’m still not exactly sure. I think only time will tell. I had so much fun, enjoyed being adventurous (read: looking slutty) in my costume, had a ridiculously good time visiting a professional haunted house (which I’ve never done) and had some great times with family and friends. So in these ways, it as a huge success. I am pooped though. Halloween has exhausted me. I need a vacation from Halloween parties and costumes. And frankly, almost as exhausting as Halloween is playing damage control on Facebook when people tag pictures of me from this Halloween (I told you I hate pictures of myself!).

But as I said, time will tell. Next September/October, let’s see how fondly I remember this Halloween. Let’s see if I’m drawn like a magnet to the nearest Halloween Express to purchase a costume. Let’s see if I still have an urge to kidnap the cutest trick-or-treater that comes my way. Let’s see if next year, I make caramel apples in my kitchen at home (hmm, this is almost a definite. I’m thinking of making caramel apples this weekend, they were so good!).

But I do feel like I can declare this a Mission Accomplished. This year I took on Halloween. Simply Solo style.


26 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Teasley permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:19 am

    I must say, you for sure enjoyed some Good Halloween festivities this year. I love the picture of you and your mom. Mommy moments are ALWAYS good

    • November 3, 2010 5:05 pm

      Ashley: Thanks for commenting! I love that picture too. My mom ROCKS!!

  2. Danielle permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:59 am

    I am sooo jealous of your simulated zombie attack!

    • November 3, 2010 5:05 pm

      Danielle: I know! It was soooo awesome. And scary. I’m less confident in my abilities to survive a zombie attack now, tho 🙂

  3. Just Saying permalink
    November 3, 2010 11:20 am

    They also made my clock tick so loud that I was certain everyone could hear it.

    The week after my 35th B-Day my uterus woke up and maybe even the neighbours too. The clock turning on was sooooooo loud it was embarrassing.

    Thankfully we’re a species that can choose not to procreate. 🙂

    Excellent post!

    I’m not a fan of Halloween myself. Haven’t been since I was old enough to fight my parents about tricker/treating etc. I rather hand out the candy. Then there is whole incident of almost blowing my hand off with a lady finger firecracker when I was 9. (but thats another story)

    • November 3, 2010 5:08 pm

      Just Saying: LOL about your uterus. Our damned reproductive organs need to chill out a bit. And you are right, I’m glad we are not required to procreate. That helps matters.

      Um, that incident sounds scary as hell. I think it’s funny you’d rather hand out candy than trick-or-treat. Actually, I was quite fluffy (alright I was downright FAT) growing up, and I didn’t much care for trick-or-treating. Cause it was exercise. LOL. It’s more fun as an adult, for sure!

  4. November 3, 2010 12:01 pm

    Oh. My. God. LOVED your description of the mini comic books featuring hell-bound trick-or-treaters! I can so relate…

    When I was young enough to trick-or-treat, it was in the height of the razors-in-candy scare, so my mother made me absolutely paranoid. I honestly went to bed each Halloween night thinking it would be my last … that I may not wake in the morning due to razor blades or cyanide.

    Therapy issues, much?

    And my children wonder why I’m “not that into” Halloween. Hmmmm…

    😉

    • November 3, 2010 5:28 pm

      Mikalee:
      Your story is hilarious! I’m so sorry that you were so traumatized by Halloween. Was that even true, by the way? Or was it an urban legend about the razor blades and cyanide?

      I have an irrational fear of movie theaters too. Remember when there was the scare (urban legend) about needles in the seats of movie theaters? Like you would sit down on a needled – that happened to be placed someone there, and had HIV on it?? LOL. I used to be so scared of sitting down or even running my hand across the seat first. Fun times.

  5. Lost in France permalink
    November 3, 2010 12:19 pm

    not surprised you are exhausted.

    You seem to be an all or nothing type of girl.

    So previously you did not really do Halloween, this year you do three parties and a haunted house. Perhaps a Halloween OD.

    • November 3, 2010 5:10 pm

      Lost: I think it’s funny you mentioned it, because I’m only recently realizing that I am an all or nothing kind of girl. I’m very ultimatum focused. I jump to conclusions A LOT. When you said that, I was like damn, this person’s only been reading for a few days and knows this. LOL.

      Perhaps just a little OD. But at least it only comes once a year!

  6. November 3, 2010 1:14 pm

    I haven’t had a caramel apple in years. You know what I never cared for? Candy apples. I was always afraid of biting into one and chipping a tooth. At least caramel is soft and chewy. And now I’m craving one…thanks!

    • November 3, 2010 5:11 pm

      Mark: I don’t know if I’ve ever even had a candy apple. I’m telling you, this caramel apple was AMAZING. Best thing I’ve eaten in awhile. And I could lie to myself and say that it was healthy because it was an apple 🙂

      Go get a caramel apple! And put one in the mail for me. Thanks in advance. 🙂

  7. November 3, 2010 1:24 pm

    I had a caramel apple on Halloween first time in AGES. I will tell you it beat the crap out of me-they were home-made and stuck in the fridge so the caramel wouldn’t melt off like last year…

    I resorted to cutting the apple in pieces so my teeth wouldn’t be wearing caramel costume residue.

    Anyway! I’m glad you had fun..I agree with LIF hopefully you didn’t OD. 🙂

    • November 3, 2010 5:22 pm

      Mct88: Haha, that’s funny that you had to cut it into pieces. Sort of takes away the joy of a caramel apple. But still yummy, right??

      About the ODing…. it might feel like it now, but I think I’ll look back and think of what fun I had. It won’t feel like I ODed by then. That’s what I’m thinking (hoping).

      Next stop… Catherine does Thanksgiving! Christmas! Lol, jk

  8. Matt79 permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:04 pm

    Wow, those comic books sound more scary than the zombies – handing those out to kids is pretty hardcore!

    I don’t think I could handle a caramel apple these days – I think the sugar hit would blow my head off!

    • November 4, 2010 2:29 pm

      Haha, yeah those comic books really freaked me out! I’m not sure what those people were thinking. Honestly, made me more scared of religious people and Baptists than I was of going to hell for trick or treating!!

      Hmmmm…. I love sugar. LOL. Now I’m craving a caramel apple again, and the craving had just went away!

  9. Millie Turner (Mom) permalink
    November 3, 2010 8:25 pm

    Ok not so much on the picture :(… You now know where you get the picture hating from me.. You girls do know I am only letting you take them so you can put then on the screen at my wake :)I love you great post.

    • November 3, 2010 8:31 pm

      I think it’s a cute pic! Everyone on Facebook agrees. :). I can’t get my picture hating from you, cause where does Tasha get her absolute love of pictures?? Lol. Love u!!! (And don’t talk about ur wake… U are never gonna die. Forever young).

  10. BeneathTheSpinLight permalink
    November 4, 2010 1:49 am

    “My least favorite thing I ever got while trick-or-treating? In upstate New York, this Southern Baptist family handed out miniature comic books. In the comic books, there were stories of trick-or-treaters that were going to hell for celebrating Halloween. It showed hand drawn pictures of children in costumes surrounded by flames, burning.” Fact: people are crazy. For the record, I was born and raised in upstate New York… this has never happened to me. I’m so sorry for your misfortune!

    Also, more proof to our twin-dom is your love of zombies! 🙂

    Kudos on potentially liking Halloween!

    • November 4, 2010 2:31 pm

      You are from upstate New York? Where abouts? I was at Fort Drum… near Watertown. My dad was stationed up there with the Army.

      And you are right, people can be crazy (bat-shit crazy, in fact). And I LOVE that you love zombies too. They rock!!

  11. November 5, 2010 11:52 am

    You’re so pretty!
    And hope you had a great Halloween!

  12. November 8, 2010 5:18 pm

    “That is just a minefield for getting my feelings hurt. But props to people who can handle it without crying over candy corn and fun-size Snickers.”

    Haha! I completely agree… I can already hear myself, “You think my hair is that big, really? Thanks a lot… boo hoo hoo”.

    First time to your blog. You are hilarious. Rock on.

    • November 9, 2010 10:47 am

      Haha, glad I’m not the only one who is too sensitive to handle someone dressing up as me. I can see myself – you really think my butt is that big?? LOL 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Can’t wait to check out your blog too (sadly, most of my reading is reserved for the weekends)!

Trackbacks

  1. My Attempt At St. Patrick’s Day « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  2. Better Off Undead « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey

Leave a Reply

