Skip to content

Simply Solo Spotlight: Why I Love John James Preston (Mr. Big)

February 18, 2011

Today, we have an impromptu Simply Solo Spotlight! My best friend, upstairs neighbor and almost-maid of honor simply had to speak up about yesterday’s post. She initially started writing the following as a comment, but quickly realized she had far too much to say on the matter of Mr. Big for just a simple comment. I hope you enjoy this impromptu guest post! Happy Friday everyone!

Why I Love John James Preston (Mr. Big)

I felt compelled to ask for this guest post because I felt your readers needed to hear an alternate point of view.

Yours was a very well thought out post, my dear Catherine, but as you well know, I am Team Big! Mr. John James Preston, even his name makes me a bit tingly down there, as Samantha would politely say. I will admit, Aidan was the perfect man, though unfortunately not for Carrie. I have seen many of your readers respond with the thought that Carrie was somehow victimized, put her life on hold, and was innocently hurt by Big.

Well my thoughts on those comments are, “It takes two to tango.” Carrie definitely tangoed with one John James Preston (sorry, I really love his name folks, LOL). Yes, I completely agree that in the beginning, Big had many phobias. So did Carrie, she could not even wear the ring Aidan gave her on her finger. Yes, Big did cheat, and once a cheater always a cheater. Carrie cheated on Aidan with Big.

I disagree with the argument that Big did nothing to try to win Carrie back. In the series finale, he contacted her friends for advice and then flew to Paris to win her back. Yes, he did become overwhelmed at the wedding. He had tried calling her all morning because he needed to know it was still about them. All he wanted to do was see her, the woman with whom he was in love, but circumstances prevented that. He did not even get half way down the street before he was telling the driver to turn around. Had Carrie’s friends not caused her to have a panic attack and someone had called Big, the movie would have been finished before it began, because they would have been married.

In regards to people changing, I would not say they change, but evolve. Carrie never tried to change Big, Big never tried to change Carrie. Aidan did try to change Carrie, however, just further proving they were not meant for each other.

Other reasons I love Big:

  1. His name is John James Preston!!
  2. His nickname is BIG, come on ladies.
  3. He colors outside the lines!
  4. He is a hard-working, successful, self-employed man.
  5. I am sure he has a 401K!
  6. He saved Carrie’s shoes!
  7. He is very mysterious.

 So do I think Big is the perfect man? No, he is far from it. But I do think he was perfect for Carrie. I also believe the world is filled with more Bigs than Aidans. Therefore, he was indeed one of the truest characters on the show. Yes, I also acknowledge I have put way too much thought into this as well.


18 Comments leave one →
  1. natasha permalink
    February 18, 2011 8:51 am

    I agree with you, Miss Mysterious Upstairs Neighbor. There is definitely more John James Preston’s in this world then Aiden’s. It’s a shame – Aiden was HOT.

    • Mysterious upstairs neighbor permalink
      February 18, 2011 9:58 pm

      Aiden was hot, but I do think Big was as well, gosh I love me some Big! I like the nick name by the way, think Ill keep it, hahah.

  2. February 18, 2011 9:12 am

    Nice guest post! I think what you said ir right on: Aidan was perfect, but not for Carrie. I mean, remember Carrie visiting his cabin? Awful.

    • Mysterious upstairs neighbor permalink
      February 18, 2011 11:27 pm

      I had completely blocked that episode, lol, very good point!!!

  3. Teya:) permalink
    February 18, 2011 9:59 am

    I love it!!! How did I know that the mysterious awesome lady that lives upstairs from you cat was going to have something to say! I am also Team Big:) As you said he wasnt perfect but how many men out there truly are people! Better yet how many of us woman are??!! He was perfect for her and attempted to do his best to make her happy (with a couple of speed bumps along the way)…….yet isnt that what we all want, someone to love us for who we are and in the end try their best to make us feel like the luckiest woman in the world:)

    • Mysterious upstairs neighbor permalink
      February 18, 2011 11:29 pm

      Go Team Big, you know me so well 🙂 And I love the speed bump anology, it is so true!!

  4. February 18, 2011 10:24 am

    Dear Mysterious Neighbour.

    Amen.

    Signed, Mrs. John Jacob Astor IV (as in “4th wife”)

    • Mysterious upstairs neighbor permalink
      February 18, 2011 11:29 pm

      ooh that name has a nice ring to it as well honey!!

  5. mom permalink
    February 18, 2011 11:14 am

    First, I must say I need to get the sex in the city CD set; you all now have me curious. But from what I have gathered he seems like the bad boy type this type will always make you ”tingle down there” Secondly, E-mail love letters, that weren’t even written by him. Rather than Mr. Big he should be Mr.L for loser!!! Although I do know a few young women who like the BAD BOY type however, I will leave them nameless …. Aidan gets my vote But Remember I have never watched the show. Great job best friend, upstairs neighbor and almost-maid of honor
    Love ya mom

    • Mysterious upstairs neighbor permalink
      February 18, 2011 11:31 pm

      Ma, yes you do need to see the show. We need to have a SATC night once a month to get you caught up, I think you will come to appreciate Team Big!!! 🙂

  6. February 18, 2011 2:10 pm

    The world is nof full of Aidens, Bigs, Steves or Harrys — or even Smiths. The world is full of guys like the ones in the circus freak episode.

    • Mysterious upstairs neighbor permalink
      February 18, 2011 11:32 pm

      Another good episode I do not recall…I never had the chance to watch the show on HBO, I have had to rely on good ole TBS reruns! 🙂

  7. Kaliméra permalink
    February 18, 2011 2:12 pm

    His name is John James Preston, doll, you said it all:) In my little I tried to find the same a man in his career, mysterious. But my Mr. Big works too much and is stressed out. At the end sex and the city is a film…

    • Mysterious upstairs neighbor permalink
      February 18, 2011 11:38 pm

      You got it Kid, lol! I agree with you, some qualities come with a great sacrafice!

  8. February 19, 2011 7:07 am

    The only time I EVER liked big was when he went to Paris to “rescue” Carrie from the horrible (but hot) Alexander Petrovsky. And even then, it was a little too Disney Princess for me. Sorry mysterious upstairs neighbor, I’m with Catherine on this one 🙂

  9. singleasfuck (Tylar) permalink
    February 21, 2011 11:06 pm

    Valid points, but Aiden will always hold my heart! Mmmmm where can I get me one of those…

  10. JJP permalink
    October 17, 2012 9:55 pm

    Firstly I want to say…THANK YOU for this post…I am with you on this one…

    Although Aidan was the perfect and maybe also the right guy (yes I just said it haha) and Carrie did love him it was never the kind of love she had with Big.
    I think it really is about what you are looking for and as she said in the last episode: I am someone who is looking for love. Real love. Ridiculous, inconvenient, consuming, can’t-live-without-each-other love.” She found in Big what she was looking for.
    You cannot change how you feel about someone. Sometimes the right choice isn’t the “right” one (if that just made any sense).
    Big was the one for Carrie and even if he was a cheating whore…that doesn’t change the fact that Carrie loves him and only him!!!

    Sorry just had to get this off my chest… 🙂

    P.S. Actually it IS all about his name (haha)

    …and btw I found my John James Preston ( but without “H”) 😉

  11. March 3, 2013 3:56 am

    I have a Mr. BIG. he has done almost everything that the real Mr. Big did to carrie. We still always manage some how to find our way back to each other. We have been best friends and lovers for over 30 years. Marriage for him is not an option. As soon as we get close he shuts down like Big. I never had a Adain, but even if i did my heart would still belong to Big.

Leave a Reply

