Skip to content

What’s In The Stars For Me?

February 24, 2011
Astrology shop

Photo courtesy of Verbunkos

One of the executives at my company and a friend of mine gave me the most original gift that I’ve ever received for my birthday: an astrological reading. She is a huge believer in astrology, and has been going to a man named Astro John for years and raves about him.

Astro John was booked around my birthday, and the earliest he could fit me in was last Friday night. Yes, Friday night. I have been living the most boring of lives lately that it’s totally OK with me if I stay home and talk to an astrologist on a Friday night and go to bed by 11. This is my life.

When I scheduled my reading with Astro John, he asked for my birth day, time and location. After tracking down my birth certificate (under the passport, behind the journal I bought and only wrote one entry), I sent back the information and waited.

After several weeks went by, it was finally the big Friday of my reading. Astro John is located in New York, so although it would be more fun to do this sort of thing in person, there was no way I could travel to New York. So, we scheduled a call up to two hours. Two hours!? What in the world would we have to discuss for two hours? I jokingly told people that I hoped the call would last that long, because if it ended up being a really short call, that would mean Astro John had seen nothing in the stars for me, and that I would die at a young age without achieving anything. Or worse, I would die an old, spinster cat lady who had no life experiences to speak of (hence the short reading) who lived with twelve cats in a one-bedroom apartment and ate Chinese food every night, alone.

When I mentioned my upcoming reading to Chef, he joked, “Oh yeah, the reading where some guy you’ve never met is going to tell you I’m not the one, right? That reading?” Funny.

I have to tell you, I was really concerned that the reading would be bad. Like the story of the tea leaf reader who told my mom when she just 14 years old that she would die in a horrific car accident in a red car. That psychic made my mom forever fearful of getting into red cars.

As I was when I went to go see Psychic Sophie, I was worried he’d tell me one specific thing: that I made a huge mistake leaving my ex and canceling the wedding and that I’d never find love again. Luckily, Psychic Sophie didn’t say that, although she did say she didn’t see true love for me anytime in the near future.  

Astro John made me laugh, and you know it, he made me cry. Some of the things he said were spot on, and a few of the things he said made me scratch my head a little. I would know if most of the things he said are true until time passes. Fair warning, there’s a lot of information in my reading – but if you read on, you’ll hear all about my future, including when I’ll find love. Here’s what Astro John said:

  • Cha-cha-cha-changes. Beginning in late 2013, early 2014, I am going to go through a series of cycles that will last for about eight years. Each of those years is going to feel like the end of an era and the beginning of a new. I’m going to see lasting, durable changes each of these years, and in the process, I will reinvent myself in every part of my life. This sounds exhausting.
  • Late bloomer. I am a late bloomer, and I will find that just when all my friends’ lives unravel, my life will start to come together. Things are meant to happen later in life rather than sooner for me. I have always felt anxious about my life, asking myself “Why isn’t X happening yet?” or “When will X happen for me?” The reason things aren’t happening for me yet is because I’m not ready for them. Late bloomers also spend much of their early lives living according to expectations of other people, trying to bring peace and satisfaction to other people, often at the expense or delay of their own happiness. In some ways I feel this way, but in some, I don’t. I’m torn.
  • Meaning of being a Capricorn. I am a Capricorn, which means I am dedicated, hardworking and sometimes hard on myself. I pressure myself to achieve, and when I don’t do as well as I’d hoped, I really beat myself up about it. I should relax, stop putting so much pressure on myself and let nature take its course. I definitely am too hard on myself sometimes. Sometimes I think it has helped me achieve greater, but lately it just feels like a burden.
  • Spring is coming in 2014. I’m in a wintery phase in my life, and have been for a long time. Like a farmer who tries to plant seeds in the middle of winter, nothing will grow. Spring will come for me in the end of 2013 and the beginning of 2014. I need to be patient until spring comes. In 2014, I will reinvent and discover myself. I will do things that I’d never even considered doing, and everything that I never thought would happen will happen. During this time, I’m going to start a whole new career. It’s going to be an entire different direction from what I’m doing now (public relations/marketing). In fact, the efforts I put in right now won’t matter in 2014. Worrying about the next promotion, searching for a new job, none of those things matter. 2014 will be a whole new ball game. 2014? That’s in forever! Guess that means I can take a vacation, huh?
  • A major career change. The major career change I will make in 2014 will be that I will write. Astro John didn’t know if will be a writer per se (and if so, if it would be fiction or non-fiction), or if I will just get a job that will include a lot of writing, but he said it would be a major career shift for me. Cue tears. All I want in the world is to be a writer. Hopefully he’s not seeing an obituary writer in my future.
  • I haven’t even begun my life yet. Everything big for me is going to happen in 2014. Sometimes, I really do feel like I haven’t begun my life yet. I remember saying my ex fiancé the night of our engagement party that it felt like my life was finally beginning. Funny how things turned out.
  • Always waiting. I was born the day before a new moon, which means the moon couldn’t be seen in the sky very easily when I was born. When you are born before a new moon, you feel like you are always are waiting for the next thing to happen or for the next opportunity. It always feels just around the bend, but it never seems to come to fruition. I definitely have felt like this my entire life. I always feel like I’m waiting, waiting, waiting. Like at any minute, something big is going to happen that will change everything.
  • Rising sign of Sagittarius. My ascendant sign is Sagittarius, as it was rising in the East when I was born. This sign represents my outer personality, the side of me the world sees. This side of me is only skin deep. But, the word sees me as optimistic, enthusiastic, glowing, fun, joyful and expansive. Often, I can be naïve or downright gullible. I’m not sure what the world sees when they look at me, but I buy it.
  • Manage expectations. The combination of my dedicated, serious Capricorn inner sign, and my optimistic ascendant sign of Sagittarius means that I can get really excited and optimistic about things (Sagittarius) and then be really let down and grim if they don’t turn out well (Capricorn). This means I have to actively manage my expectations. Yep.
  • My love signs make me a romantic. Venus/Mars were in the sign of Pisces when I was born. Venus and Mars are the love planets, and them being in Pisces is representative about how I have a wavering quality in my love life (wavering, like the waves or water). I can get dreamy and romantic (sometimes overly romantic) when it comes to love. Maybe I am overly romantic. But I blame it on romantic comedies and Jennifer Aniston, not the planets of Venus, Mars and Pisces.
  • College plans. If I had talked with Astro John before I decided my major in college, he would have recommended that I major in journalism or something that had to do with literary pursuits or creative writing. This is really interesting because I initially wanted to go to school for English and creative writing. When I told my father about this, he said that was a stupid idea. I felt silly, agreed with him and scrapped the idea. When I mentioned this to Astro John, he said that was my true self coming through.
  • Career opportunity. At some point between July and October of this year, I’m going to have a career opportunity. It will either be a new project or job description at my current job or an opportunity with a new company. This will feel like a big deal but it’s nothing compared to 2014. Okay, Astro John. I’ll get excited, but not too excited.
  • My love life last year. In the area of love, last year was a bad year. From the period of the end of 2009 to October 2010, I went through a period of dejection. January 2010 and October 2010 were really bad months, where I felt like a motherless child. Okay, we all know last year sucked. This was the one part during the reading that I felt like Astro John was completely off. January 2010 was one of the happiest months of my life. That’s when I picked out my wedding dress and did the bulk of the wedding planning. So I can’t say I felt like a motherless child then. And October wasn’t so bad either.
  • Predictions for my love life. My love life since October 2010 and for the time on the horizon looks mild, pleasant, casual, friendly … all simple words. I will experience nothing too exciting or grand. After June of this year, Astro John suggests I get out there and date and have fun, and focus on getting some life experience. Not every relationship has to be the one. I will not experience real love in the next two to three years. I may eventually find love with someone who has repeatedly entered and exited my life, but it will take me a while to be ready. In fact, marriage is not in the picture for me until at least 2014. Ouch. Shh. Don’t tell Chef Astro John said that. Whoops, I already did. And immediately felt like a jerk.
  • Marriage. On the bright side, Astro John does see marriage and being a mother in my future. Thank God. At this point, I gave Astro John a little background about the canceled wedding.
  • My almost wedding. My breakup with my ex fiancé and the fact that at the end, I caught him in a lot of lies, is indicative of the naiveté of the Sagittarius side of me. There were tell-tale signs that were always there, but I wasn’t looking. And part of me didn’t want to see him for who he really was. I was ignoring the signs because I wanted to get married and I wanted the life I’d planned. But, when I was planning to get married, it was like planting seeds in the winter. There was no way a marriage could grow. Cue the tears. Even if this stuff is total BS, that line about my marriage being like planting seeds in the winter broke my little heart.
  • Did I make a mistake leaving my ex? I gave Astro John my ex’s birthday information and he said I would never have been happy had I married him. We were cut from different cloths and he would have never been able to give me the life on which I was counting. It would have been the biggest mistake of my life if I’d stayed with him. Whew! Perhaps Astro John was just telling me this because he knew it was what I wanted, no needed, to hear, but what a relief. Crisis narrowly averted.
  • What’s next. If Astro John could control my life and make my decisions for me, he would tell me to do something either selfless or selfish. If I choose selfless, I should quit my job and do something like join the Peace Corps or work for the Habitat for Humanity. Since the time I spend focusing on my career now until 2014 does not really matter, I should find a creative and productive way of kill a few years. If I want to be selfish, I should do something fun, like take painting classes and explore the world. Until 2014, I should focus on experiencing life and myself. I have spent too long being someone’s daughter, someone’s girlfriend or someone’s employee. It’s time to spend some time being Catherine. Now is the time to live. Wow, this is pretty inspiring. Scary. Invigorating. Impossible. But actually possible, even though it doesn’t feel that way. But who changes their life plans from an astrology reading?
crescent moon, sky

Photo courtesy of NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center

So, I’m off to join the Peace Corps, stop worrying so much about everything, date numerous men (The Year of Yes!), and patiently wait until 2014 when my entire world will change. And I’ll be a writer, people! Don’t worry, I’ll send a signed, first edition to every one of you. Just as long as you are willing to stick around the next three years while friggin’ nothing happens for me and I don’t find love.

What do you guys think? Do you believe in this stuff? Or is this reading so general that it could be anyone’s reading? Are you in for the long haul? 2014 is a long way away ….

The good news is the reading went on for about an hour and 40 minutes. At least I know I won’t be a cat lady or die super young.


47 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 9:57 am

    It’s so cool that you did this. I’ve been meaning to do this for awhile. That’s a long time to be on the phone!

    • February 24, 2011 11:56 am

      I know! You should totally do it. And I gotta tell you, the time flew. It was just so interesting!

  2. natasha permalink
    February 24, 2011 10:12 am

    Hopefully 2014 will bring lots of money for you too 🙂

    • February 24, 2011 11:57 am

      Haha, yep, Natasha! And maybe I’ll share some with you 🙂

  3. February 24, 2011 10:30 am

    You’ve just reminded me that I need to take a look at my reading again. My friend is an astrologer and did a reading for me last year. It said nothing would happen until the middle of this year, so I’d better take a look at it and get ready for changes!

    • February 24, 2011 11:57 am

      Yep, you better get ready! If mine is correct, I’ve got lots of hurry up and waiting to do… 🙂 But the middle of this year is soon enough for you!

  4. February 24, 2011 11:10 am

    I think that this stuff is really interesting. I think that the part that struck me was that every relationship doesn’t have to be the one. I am such a serious person, that I need to be reminded of that. Super interesting, I’ll stick around for the next three years and wait for your book 🙂

    • February 24, 2011 9:51 pm

      TL,
      You and me both. I am a very serious person, and very driven, and I find myself being that way when I’m dating as well. Immediately wondering if this one is “the one.” At the very least, this reading was a good reminder to chill out. I already feel calmer (as silly as that is)!
      Thanks for sticking around, I’ll try and make it worth it 🙂

  5. February 24, 2011 11:39 am

    I went to a psychic (30-minute tarot reading) last month, and quite frankly, it scared the sh*t out of me. Not bad, but same feelings you had… some head scratchers, some a-ha moments. But, she refused to answer the question “will I ever get married?” , as it would lead to things such as your mother’s choice not to ride in red cars!

    I think your reading is very, very cool. I mean, take it for what it is, but take away the things you need to hear. You’re a writer and you have a great passion for it. You also have a great capacity to love.

    But, it requires your patience. Patience isn’t a passive act. Patience is about understanding and perseverance. I think you’ve shown those things through your writing! Cool story.

    • February 24, 2011 9:57 pm

      KD,
      That’s interesting that your psychic wouldn’t answer if you would ever get married. Sounds like she’s trying to be a responsible fortune teller. I can’t imagine if Astro John had told me he doesn’t see marriage in my future. That would about kill me. I so much want to be married and have children.

      Thanks for your kind words. I am definitely trying to appreciate the good parts of my reading. I would LOVE to a writer! How amazing would that be?! That gives me a little hope that some day, I’ll make a career out of this passion of mine. I love what you said here about patience, I can’t say I ever thought of it that way. I have always considered it passive, just waiting. But you are right, there is a lot of work that goes into patience. I’ve got a few years to learn this, huh? 🙂

      Thanks for the comment 🙂

  6. February 24, 2011 1:03 pm

    It’s difficult not to get caught up in stuff like this. Every year, on my birthday I’ll buy a paper so I can cut out (yes, to keep) my birthday horoscope.

    I good friend of mine did an in-depth reading for me years ago, I’ll have to try and dig it up, but it had those “Ah Ha” and head scratch moments as well.

    There’s nothing wrong with being an Obit writer 😉 When I was taking my journalism classes, for my degree, I had my best scores when we covered obituaries.

    And what’s 3 years really? I’ll be looking forward to that post titled ‘It’s finally here and this is my 400th post!’

    • February 24, 2011 9:31 pm

      Matt,
      That’s a cool idea about your birthday horoscope. I can’t remember EVER reading my horoscope on my birthday! Oooh I’d love to hear what your reading said – it’d be kind of cool to forget all about your reading for a few years and then dig it up and see if it’s right. I’ll definitely be checking in 2014 to see if everything came true!
      Haha, 400 posts. That seems impossible! I sure hope I am still blogging in three years! And if not, I’ll have to put a post up just to update everyone on if my reading turned out to be true 😉

      • March 1, 2011 11:14 pm

        I’ll have to see if I can dig it up (still in the process of unpacking from a recent move). However, here is what my birthday horoscope said:

        “This year, you express creativity and charisma. If you opt to manifest an idea, reality happens more easily. Your magnetism speaks, and others respond. If single, you meet many potential suitor. If attached, stay sensitive and avoid being me-oriented. Aquarius values friendship.”

        Not a lot of promise in the ‘single’ department for anything long lasting but at least the stars say I’m going to have a fair share of dates.

  7. mom permalink
    February 24, 2011 1:53 pm

    Well I’ll start double dosing those vitamins. If I had read this blog before spending my birthday money on my droid I would have had a reading. Maybe he could get me off this red car kick I’ve been on for 36 years, on the other hand maybe not such a good idea, getting a little short on the life span. Maybe I could get a discount!!! Seeing I don’t have as many future years to read lol Can’t wait until 2014 Love ya
    Mom

    • February 24, 2011 9:33 pm

      LOL, Mom! We should totally get a reading for you. And I’m sure he’ll have plenty to say. You better have many many more years ahead of you – but don’t you dare get into a red car!

  8. February 24, 2011 2:11 pm

    How much does it cost for a reading with this guy? I need some direction. I suck at decisions.

    • February 24, 2011 2:14 pm

      Oh and, which one is it going to be? the Peace Corps or Habitat?

      • February 24, 2011 9:35 pm

        Haha, still deciding 🙂 Or I might be selfish and take painting classes and just do whatever I wanna do! Actually, I did look at the Peace Corps website for awhile last night… it’s kind of fun to think of something you’ve never even considered! But, I would need more than an astrology reading to adjust my life plans.

    • February 24, 2011 9:34 pm

      You know, I’m not sure, since it was given to me as a gift. My sense is that it’s more than $100… but I’m not sure exactly how much more. But you should totally do it! I want to hear your reading!!

  9. February 24, 2011 2:39 pm

    Only you are gonna know if the things he said are true, but keep us updated on the stuff thats coming up! I totally agree about the outer side of your personality! This was really interesting, I’d love to do something like this but I guess I just have to find someone genuine huh 🙂 Good luck!

    • February 24, 2011 9:37 pm

      Caity,
      Thanks, I will keep you guys updated for sure! I appreciate what you said about my outer personality – I guess I always thought I came off exactly as I feel I am inside! You know what I mean? This outer sign stuff was interesting to hear. And you should totally get a reading. Check out Astro John – he was so nice, and so well spoken. I really enjoyed it. Whether it’s a bunch of crap or not 🙂 Time will tell…

  10. February 24, 2011 3:42 pm

    I think this would be fun to do, if you take it with a grain of salt and have the attitude that it’s “entertainment” more than anything. Although, he did make some pretty specific predictions…guess you’ll know for sure in three short years how spot-on ol’ Astro John was!

    • February 24, 2011 9:38 pm

      Mark,
      It was really fun. The whole thing, from getting excited about it to analyzing it after, it was definitely worth the time. I do see it as entertainment, which is exactly how I took my trip to see Psychic Sophie – I was just bored and had no plans, some extra money, and said hey, let’s go see a psychic! I’m looking forward to seeing how spot-on this reading was. I’ll know some stuff this summer, and more in 2014!

  11. 2NewBeginnings permalink
    February 24, 2011 4:22 pm

    I’ve always wanted to do this myself, but for fun of course as I would not want someone’s reading deciding my future. I want to decide MY FUTURE! But, at the same time, other’s opinions sometimes sway my judgement at times! Working on that one!

    Anyhow, Like other’s have said….take it with a grain of salt. As I get older, I believe we can choose to make our lives what we want or we can accept what life dishes out to us. Just be open to the possibilities that come your way. I believe all of us on here have some amazing and bright futures ahead of us no matter if it’s 2012, 2013 or 2014. Be thankful for what you are given in life each day, there is a purpose to everything that happens, and it appears that you have something to look forward to. 🙂

    • February 24, 2011 9:40 pm

      2NewBeginnings,
      Thanks! You should do this, if you can look at it as just fun, nothing too serious. It doesn’t hurt! But I know what you mean about someone else deciding your future. It’s funny how him just saying I should join the Peace Corps had me on the Peace Corps’ website to see what that was all about!
      You are right, we need to enjoy every single day we are given. I don’t want to just wait until 2014 to enjoy my life, that’s for sure.
      Appreciate your comment!

  12. February 24, 2011 4:57 pm

    What’s really scary about this is that it sound’s like me and my situation. I’m a capricorn as well…I wonder how close we are in age and in the years. Hmm…lol

    • February 24, 2011 9:41 pm

      Haha, interesting! Well I was born January 19, 1985…what about you? I was born at like 3 a.m. as well. 🙂
      Feel free to take my reading as your own! ha!

  13. Mari permalink
    February 24, 2011 6:33 pm

    I’ve always wanted one of those readings but I’m too afraid to really want to know what awaits me and because I tend to be a bit obsessive about things too and I know it would drive me nuts!! So, I’d rather waltz right into my future blindly! Lol!

    I’m happy that your reading gave you many positive things to look forward to!! Thanks for sharing!

    P.S. hope you don’t mind that I keep coming back, I can’t help myself!! I really do enjoy your writting so I decided if Im going to keep coming back, I might as well leave a comment with a link so that you can see I’m not a crazy stalker of any sorts! 😉

    • February 24, 2011 9:44 pm

      Mari,
      I know, it can be kind of scary when you are waiting fo the reading and you have no idea what they’ll say. I mean, what if they say something really awful will happen? Do you really want to know that? My sense is that most astrologists and psychics don’t really go down that path, but I’m not sure.

      Mind you coming back? I LOVE it! One of the main reasons I write is to meet people like you. I really appreciate you coming back, and your comment – it means a lot to me. But thanks for leaving the link this time, so I can check out your site too!

      • Mari permalink
        February 25, 2011 5:23 pm

        You arever welcome and it’s my pleasure to be able to read your blog!!

        I’ve come back once again! Lol! This time because for some reason I couldnt get my gravatar to properly link back to my site but I’ve made some changes and it seems to be working now. You are more than welcome to stop by!

        Have a great weekend!!

        • February 28, 2011 10:05 pm

          Will do, thanks for providing the correct link! I was wondering about that 🙂

  14. February 24, 2011 8:26 pm

    I’ll admit I don’t take psychic readings, horoscopes, or superstitions seriously, but then again, they are fun, and if you do give out some information on yourself, some of the stuff they will say in response will make you laugh…or make you think. Fun stuff and thanks for sharing. Makes me intrigued what advice I’d get if I did one of these…

    • February 24, 2011 9:45 pm

      One Foot, I know, I’m intrigued about what advice all of my friends/family would get. I now want to buy readings for everyone! (Wish I were rich!) This was really fun, and at the end of the day, something to do for entertainment. It was nice that it was a gift, because I don’t know if I’d spend the money on myself. Perfect situation!

  15. Ally Smeed permalink
    February 24, 2011 8:35 pm

    Not to sound like a dork, but when I got to the part about you being born right before the new moon and what that meant, I had to do some investigating. I was also born right before a new moon and I’ve always felt like I was waiting for the next big thing to happen in my life – always waiting.

    Either way, glad I found your blog!

    • February 24, 2011 9:49 pm

      Ally,
      That’s so interesting! You are not a dork at all – I thought this was so cool because it was perfect description of how I’ve felt my whole life. It’s kind of interesting that we both felt the same way and we were both born right before the new moon. Maybe there’s more to this stuff than I always thought.
      Glad you found the blog too! Thanks for reading and commenting, I appreciate it.

  16. February 24, 2011 11:21 pm

    My sister does this and so far she is always right which annoys me to no end! I want her to give me lotto numbers and tell me good stuff, but she phones me at weird times and says don’t take the freeway home tonight. Sure enough, I don’t and when I get home there is a multiple car pile up that I would have been in. I suppose that is good stuff, lol but I want cash or Tiffany boxes 😉

    • February 28, 2011 10:03 pm

      Ha, well consider yourself fortunate – you have someone looking out for you! I’d take that over cash or Tiffany boxes. You can be in a nice car, wearing nice clothes, and get in a horrific car accident… or drive an ugly car, blah clothes, and your sister tells you to be extra careful and you be just fine. I’d take the latter any day! 🙂

  17. February 25, 2011 11:20 am

    You had me at ‘reading’. I LOVE my psychic and I get a reading from her once a year with little check in’s here and there. I don’t take it all as the gospel and she encourages me and everyone she reads to take what you want and leave what you don’t want. He gave you a lot of good info about who you are as a person and that’s what I would focus on but I can’t wait for 2014:) -SG

    • February 28, 2011 10:05 pm

      That’s so cool that you get a psychic reading every year! I think it’s fun, and you are right – take what you want from it. I am totally looking forward to 2014 🙂

  18. February 28, 2011 4:27 pm

    Pretty cool! I saw a psychic once who told me my parents would divorce (they did), that I should go into something creative (did) and that the love of my life had the initials J.T.S in any order. Haven’t found him yet!

    -L

    • February 28, 2011 10:07 pm

      Ooh, interesting Lucky! Now I’ll be reading the blog with even more interest, looking for J.T.S. 🙂

  19. March 1, 2011 8:46 pm

    Denny’s totally comfortable with having the exact same life forecast as roughly 500 million other people (8% of the world’s population).

    BTW…Leo. But you probably knew that.

  20. BeneathTheSpinLight permalink
    March 1, 2011 8:58 pm

    I’ll stick around for the signed first edition copy! Three years isn’t so long! 😉
    I don’t really believe in astrology for more than a laugh and some entertainment when I’m bored. It’s nice to believe that your life will change in 2014 and things will finally start happening but I think it’s also tempting to tuck that in the back of your mind and start letting life take more control than you normally would because you can see that it’ll all pan out in time.
    Your life has already changed so much and things ARE happening! You have so many readers, so much recognition for your writing, and you got to this place because of a HUGE change! You deserve all the recognition you have and I’m certain more is on the way… probably sooner than 2014. I’ll give Astro John a run for his money!

    • March 1, 2011 11:07 pm

      Beneath,
      Aww, thank you for your comment! You really made me smile. You will definitely get a signed first edition. I’ll even write you a little note to thank you for all the wonderful comments! 🙂

  21. Liza permalink
    February 11, 2014 12:17 pm

    Can you please give us an update now? Did the stuff he say come true?

Trackbacks

  1. Hello, Quarter-Life Crisis « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey
  2. Catherine’s Dating Resume « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey

Leave a Reply

