Skip to content

Winners and Random Funnies

June 24, 2011

Happy Friday to everyone!

I probably shouldn’t hold contests on the blog anymore, because I have had the hardest time in the world deciding who should win. On my blogiversary, I held a contest to give away two free three-month Match.com memberships. I asked anyone interested in entering to, in the comments of the post, tell me why they wanted to give online dating a try. There were so many great entries that I deliberated on this for days. Then I asked friends to weigh in because I couldn’t make a decision. Then I almost emailed Match.com to ask for more memberships to give away. And then realized I was being ridiculous and just needed to pick a damn winner already, it’s a free trial to Match.com, not a million dollars or a life-time supply of Ben & Jerry’s. Perspective, people.

So at long last, the winners of the free three-month membership to Match.com are …

Drum roll please …

Annie #2 and Farrah!

Here are the winning entries:

Annie:

Catherine, happy first anniversary! While it’s not the first anniversary you initially intended (wedding), I believe it is a much more powerful anniversary, and one that you should feel very proud of. The fact that you made the decision a year ago to pick yourself up, be proactive, and look introspectively at your experiences is inspiring and says so much about your strength of character. In doing so, you’ve created a forum which fosters your ability to write beautifully and honestly, and provides readers a place to seek solace in the comfort that crappy relationship experiences are not a unique phenomenon. For me, I’m grateful for the simple reminder that everybody struggles with dating issues, and that I am not the only one who had something bad happen.

I think you’ve done a great job, congratulations, now go have some celebratory anniversary cake!

(I would like to be considered for the online dating service. I have come to the conclusion that the only reason I live where I do, was my fiancee. Now that he is out of the picture, I want to live by my family, whom I miss so much. SO, I am making the decision to move, and I would love to have the match subscription to help me get back into things when I arrive “back home”, where I belong.)

Farrah:

Happy Anniversary! I’ve been thinking of trying online dating, but haven’t gotten my nerve up yet. After ending my relationship in February, I’ve wondered when will I be ready to start dating again, and how will I start dating again? At first, I thought it would be a really long time before I would want to go on any dates, but I’ve surprised myself and noticed that I am looking at new men everywhere I go. Seriously, I’m gonna cause a traffic accident looking at the men in the cars around me, and looking at their hands on the steering wheel to see if they are wearing a ring. Although, maybe that would be a great story to tell the kids someday. “I met your father after sideswiping his car trying to get a closer look at him.” Meet cute like in The Holiday. I’ve put the word out to my friends, but it seems everyone I know is married, and everyone they know is married. My church is small and everyone my age is married with children. I go to the gym, but most of the men are way younger than me, or far too old. So, I think I need help in the dating arena, and I think I may be feeling brave enough to try out the online dating pool. Thanks for writing your blog. I found it a few weeks after my breakup and it has been a comfort to read about someone who’s been through the same thing, and reassuring to see you coming out the other side. Kinda like having an older sister to show you how to put on makeup, you’re showing us newly single ladies a post heartbreak path. Thanks!

Thanks to everyone who entered! I plan to hold more giveaways in the future (maybe some that are randomly selected so I can avoid the stress!), so stay tuned!

OK, I know yesterday’s post was pretty intense. I think we all need a little breather after that cluster. I wanted to offer you a little humor to round out the week. Hope you haven’t already seen all of these. 🙂

First, you have to read this blog post from the incredibly funny Bloggess. It’s the funniest thing I’ve read in a really long time and my friend Melanie will forever have a place in my heart for sharing it with me: And that’s why you should learn to pick your battles Update: Oh no! It looks like her site has been going down here and there. This post has definitely gone viral, so it’s probably just overloading her site. If it’s down when you check it out, try again later … trust me, it’s worth it.

Done laughing? Okay. Now watch this video. I. Love. Neil. Patrick. Harris. Why, oh why, does he have to play for the other team?! Thanks to Dawn for sharing this one with me.

And this is probably the sweetest wedding proposal ever. Cameron – you helped me believe in love again when you shared this on your Facebook page.

Have you read or seen anything particularly funny lately? Share it in the comments. I think we could all use a good laugh!

Happy weekend everyone!


20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 9:00 am

    Congrats to the winners!

    And…I’m Neil Patrick Harris fan, too!

    • June 24, 2011 12:22 pm

      Yum. LOVE him. I think How I Met Your Mother is my all time favorite show…. it recently surpassed Friends for me!! 🙂

  2. June 24, 2011 9:26 am

    The NPH clip just further proves…the Tony’s are much more entertaining than the Oscars.

    I shared this on my FB but it definitely needs to get out there:

    • June 24, 2011 12:33 pm

      Haha, this looks really cute! I love Jason Segel … not as much as Neil Patrick Harris, but he’s up there 🙂 I just saw him last night on some late night program, he is so funny! I love that he’s always struggled with him weight. I love me some former fat kids, I guess… 🙂
      Thanks and happy weekend Matthew!

  3. June 24, 2011 10:00 am

    I love NPH!

    • June 24, 2011 12:22 pm

      He’s so cute and so funny! By far one of my favorite actors. And, love to see a child star not end up in a drug induced coma. 🙂

  4. June 24, 2011 10:37 am

    Love it! I actually thought of the Furiously Happy post from The Bloggess when I read your post yesterday. You should definitely check that ha-ha out, too!

    • June 24, 2011 12:26 pm

      I LOVE her Furiously Happy post. I was just thinking about that this morning, coincidentally. I think it’s about time to make a pledge to be furiously happy… or to at least try 🙂

  5. June 24, 2011 4:33 pm

    My roommate recently introduced me to How I Met Your Mother, and now I absolutely adore Neil Patrick Harris!

    If you’re wanting something funny, check out this blog: http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/

    • June 24, 2011 9:57 pm

      Hi Kate,
      The longer you watch HIMYM, the funnier it gets. You start to be part of all the inside jokes and get to know the characters so much better. I love the hell out of that show.
      Thanks for sharing that blog – it IS realloy funny! Wow, she’s so popular. Amazing site, appreciate your sharing.

  6. June 24, 2011 4:52 pm

    Loved the funnies and the proposal was amazing..

  7. Dawn permalink
    June 24, 2011 5:54 pm

    All I have to say is, knock knock Mother F-er, knock knock! Lol, Now suit up!!

    • June 24, 2011 9:33 pm

      Hahahaha. “knock, knock mother f-er” is about the funniest thing I’ve ever seen. Love ya girl 🙂

  8. June 24, 2011 8:46 pm

    WOW thanks for sharing!! I laughed at the Bloggess post when I saw the chicken at the door and when he said it was in the only window he had. That was a great glip from NPH!!! The proprosal I saw on yahoo page not to long ago. I totally cried along with her. Hope you have a great weekend. :0)

    • June 24, 2011 9:35 pm

      No problem! The picture of that chicken in front of the door will be in my head for the rest of my life. I’ve never laughed so hard. Glad you enjoyed it and you have a great weekend too!

  9. June 29, 2011 9:10 pm

    Oh my gosh, Catherine, I just read the Chicken story now because the site was down last time I clicked on it, and oh my god, so worth the wait! Hilarious–I was laughing so hard I cried! Thank you for sharing!

    Plus, did you see NPH on Glee? He was fantastic there too!

    • July 5, 2011 10:10 am

      Maggie,
      Haha! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. That post goes down as one of my all time favorite blog posts :). I hadn’t seen NPH on Glee until you said something – just Googled it! He’s awesome!!! I have the biggest never-gonna-happen crush on him that a girl could have 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  10. Ember permalink
    June 30, 2011 9:26 pm

    I know I’m totally late into the discussion, but I love this blog for a good laugh: http://crabbyoldfart.wordpress.com.

    • July 5, 2011 9:34 am

      Ember,
      LOL!! Never too late – that site is really funny. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

