Skip to content

Seven Important Life Lessons From TV

September 8, 2011

People say that watching television is a waste of time, time which would be much better spent doing more productive things like reading, exercising, spending time with family, volunteering, contributing to society, blah blah blah.

I beg to differ.

Besides the fact that TV keeps me off the streets (because I’m so dangerous when I’m on the streets), there are many life lessons I’ve learned from my many years of watching TV:

1.) Do not take caffeine pills. Those things are dangerous. Ask Jessie Spano on Saved by the Bell. “I’m so excited, I’m so excited … I’m so … SCARED!”

……

Nicole Walker Days of Our Lives
I’m looking at you, Nicole Walker, you baby stealer.

2.) You will never get away with stealing other people’s babies and pretending they are yours. This important life lesson comes from my dozen or so years watching Days of Our Lives. For some reason, women in soap operas think that stealing babies is a genius idea. The way I see it, you’ll hardly want the baby any more past the cute toddler years, so why risk the felony? Half kidding (isn’t it amazing how maternal I am?! Guess my uterus is OK after all!).

……

3.) Avoid anything that ever happened to Kelly Taylor from Beverly Hills, 90210. Poor thing, in the 10 years of the show, she was raped, terribly burned in a fire, got shot, had a cocaine addiction, joined a cult, had a mother who was an alcoholic and drug addict, had an eating disorder, had amnesia, etc.

……

4.) Over exercise and not eating is dangerous. A la a chubby (but cute) DJ Tanner on Full House.

……

5.) You hardly have to date at all to find love; just hook up with your friends. This romance lesson comes from Ross and Rachel and Chandler and Monica from Friends; Ted and Robin and Barney and Robin from How I Met Your Mother; Joey and Dawson and Joey and Pacey from Dawson’s Creek, I could go on for days. Doesn’t anyone on TV date outside their immediate social circle?

……

6.) Always consider the crazy-hot scale. My favorite episode of How I Met Your Mother taught me that I can be crazy, as long as I am equally hot.

……

7.) How to kiss: “It’s all about a little bit of pressure … and then you pull back. And then a little bit of sucking on the lips, and then you pull back. And then a little bit of tongue – not too much tongue. Oh yeah, they don’t ever want it to end.” This lesson comes from Ella, the winner of the kissing competition on Bachelor Pad, (only the best show on TV right now!). Check out 5:24 for her tips.

……

What have you learned from TV? Tell me in the comments!

 

Copyright 2011. Simply Solo blog by Catherine Gryp. All Rights Reserved.


31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 10:11 am

    love the caffeine pills episode

  2. September 8, 2011 12:32 pm

    That you can have babies and become popular, even if you are a teen (Teen Mom, MTV)

    • September 10, 2011 1:37 pm

      Haha exactly. Or that you can make a sex video and be famous – Kardashians!

  3. Nancy permalink
    September 8, 2011 12:40 pm

    Since it’s Star Trek’s 45th anniversary, I’ll write about all I’ve learned from Star Trek (and the subsequent movies):

    Seek out new life and civilizations.
    Keep your phaser set on stun.
    Humans are highly illogical.
    Tribbles are a good judge of character.
    Save the whales…or else.
    Racism is bad.
    Salt is necessary for life. (so eating an entire large bag of potato chips is a good thing!)
    The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few… or the one.

    • September 10, 2011 1:36 pm

      Hehe, good ones Nancy. I’m off to get some potato chips… 🙂

  4. September 8, 2011 1:47 pm

    Oh my god…too funny! Thanks for the smiles today!

  5. Random Cook permalink
    September 8, 2011 1:55 pm

    Saved by the Bell taught me every life lesson on Earth. The Wonder Years taught me never to fall in love with my childhood friend. Although, Winnie Cooper was fine.. Breaking Bad taught me how to dissolve a person in a bathtub with acid, but that you better do it on the ground floor or else the tub will fall through the ceiling and there will be quite a mess to clean up. I learned the term “STAT” from E.R. It means right now. I learned that it’s OK to punch a bully in the mouth from The Brady Bunch, only if defending you sister who has a lisp. Try this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ILKcxJmWcs.

    I love the TV.

    • September 10, 2011 1:35 pm

      Random Cook,
      I just watched that bathtub scene – disgusting!! EWW!! I’m scarred for life. I don’t wanna know how to dissolve a body in a bathtub! Ga-ross.
      Good call on Stat from ER. I think I know so much more about medicine from ER and House 🙂

  6. Random Cook permalink
    September 8, 2011 2:05 pm

    And if you were curious about the bathtub thing…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LM7Vsg_7WkU. Make sure to watch it all. Good TV.

  7. natasha permalink
    September 8, 2011 4:30 pm

    Nothing beats the ‘Roseanne’ episode when Jackie is in the bathtub after smoking too much of the goodness. Cracks me up every time!

    • September 10, 2011 1:27 pm

      Natasha, that’s a really funny one. I actually played that clip for Chef the other night!

  8. Lost in France permalink
    September 8, 2011 5:28 pm

    Do not ever have House as your Doctor, He always seems to get it wrong.

    • September 10, 2011 1:26 pm

      Ha, you are so right about this one. But somehow his team always gets it in the end 🙂

  9. September 8, 2011 7:11 pm

    I have no idea, I don’t have a tv. I chose not to have a tv.

    But then I only lived in a home with tv for about 8 yrs. to present home..

    Ummmmm…before that home did not have tv for ..20 yrs. It’s ok ..really life goes on and love happens along the way. 🙂 It did for me.

    • September 10, 2011 1:25 pm

      Ha, Jean. Well, I guess you’ve learned your own life lessons sans TV. I personally love TV :). I don’t want nearly as much as I used to, but it does provide some joy/calming for me and I’m not ashamed of it!

  10. Lori permalink
    September 9, 2011 8:56 am

    Catherine –

    Somehow I have stumbled across your blog…while I could say it “just happened”, I instead believe that it needed to happen…for your words, your thoughts, the way in which you have been vulnerable and transparent, have all created a stirring within my heart…

    Fear of change…fear of being alone…fear of not being loved for you…fear of feeling as though you are not worthy or need to prove yourself yourself as being worthy…it is paralyzing…and what I have come to see is that to avoid hurt, we often keep going, we push down how we feel, hoping that all work itself out…and instead there will be a moment where it will all come out, the blister will be lanced and the pain will break free and we find that through avoiding hurt, we can and often do hurt more…ourselves and sometimes others…

    We (ok talking about myself here) have to love each other and more importantly ourselves enough to not let fear stop us…

    I am amazed, inspired by your courage and thank you for sharing your thoughts with all of us…may we all learn from you! To seek our happiness, not seeking to make others happy and hoping our own happiness will follow…

    (and just a quick coincidence…the “chef” – he’s a long lost friend of mine from high school – funny how small the world can be…say hi to him for me!)

    Lori

    • September 10, 2011 1:21 pm

      Lori,
      Thank you so much for the kind comment!! You are a beautiful writer by the way – your comment really struck a chord with me. “Fear of change…fear of being alone…fear of not being loved for you… fear of feeling as though you are not worthy or need to prove yourself as being worthy…it is paralyzing.” You are so right with that. You think you are taking care of your heart, but really, your life is just in a holding pattern and you are letting the fear paralyze you. Thank you so much for putting that into words for me.

      I told Chef about your comment and he said hi back! 🙂 Funny to have someone who actually knows him reading my blog. LOL!

      Take care! Thanks again for reading and commenting!

      • Lori permalink
        October 5, 2011 3:04 pm

        Catherine –

        I just wanted to “circle back” and let you know that not only have I continued to read and more importantly ENJOY your blog, I have continued to think about the strength that you possess…to let others see YOU…be completely transparent…

        In my earlier comment, I told you that your words had created a stirring in my heart…I finally decided to do something about it and started my own blog (lifewithkateandrew.blogspot.com) – my goal is to share my life, both the good and the bad moments, but more importantly the moments I wouldn’t necessarily share or much less celebrate as i find that’s where we’re most real, where we learn the most, and where we learn to love ourselves for who we are…

        Like I said, it’s totally new…we’re talking 2 entries, but I’d love for you to check it out from time to time…

        Again, thanks so much for the inspiration – you’ll never know how you impacted me…

        Lori

        • October 8, 2011 11:52 pm

          Lori,
          Thanks so much for this comment. It means a lot to me that you took the time to write me and give me an update. I’m so lucky to have had ANY kind of impact on your life – I am humbled by it.
          I would absolutely love to read your blog! For some reason, I can’t seem to get the link to work. Would you mind reposting?

        • Lori permalink
          October 9, 2011 7:45 pm

          You have absolutely had an impact…i do not feel as though I can tell you that enough (without sounding as some sort of weird stalker 🙂 )

          Here’s a link:

          http://www.lifewithkateanddrew.blogspot.com/

          Again – thanks for all that you do….just by being YOU!

        • October 9, 2011 8:04 pm

          Thank you Lori! So I just checked out your blog – love it! Tried to leave a comment on the high school reunion post. but it didn’t go through. I’ve been having problems commenting on Blogspot sites. Found out this is a problem they are trying to fix: http://knownissues.blogspot.com/
          But I’ll be back!! Good luck at the high school reunion – have fun!

  11. Anklebiters permalink
    September 11, 2011 1:11 am

    I wrote this a few years ago on one of my friend’s blog Bit by the TV bug so it may be outdated a little but the reasoning behind it may still be valid….

    What is odd about TV shows that makes grown men and women addicted to them? Makes them cry? Makes them laugh? Have total control over the remote control on a Thursday evening? Have a love/hate relationship with the characters in the show? The answer? That’s what we hope to find out in today’s blog.

    Smallville, Roswell, Dawson’s Creek, 90210, Orange County, One Tree Hill, Gossip Girls and even Grey’s Anatomy — what do they all seem to have in common? Teenage angst? Soul mates? Relationships? Breakups? Revenge? Racy plots and dialogue? I never watched these shows during their prime, they simply did not interest me then — I thought they were boring and nonsensical. SURPRISE SURPRISE ❗

    My son helped change that as he was into Smallville in and I ended up watching an episode with him and I was hook-line-sinkered. I just had to buy all of the previous season DVDs to catch up with the storyline.


    Superman (It’s not easy…)

    There are co-workers at work who cannot wait until Thursday for the next episode. We make sure that someone records it on DVD in case one of us misses it. I was always a Superman fan as a kid, bought his comic books and watched the Superman movies as they appeared. My reason for sticking with Smallville through the years? Will Clark and Lana become a pair? Will Clark ever reveal his “secret” to Lana”? Will Lex become the anti-Clark one day? Will Lionel rise from the dead? Is a Clark-Lois relationship a possible reality? Or just maybe because my soul mate looks like Lana? 😆 So far Lana has returned from her comatose state and lets go of Clark.


    Letting go….

    Lex is alive, Chloe and Jimmy are married, and Lois finally reveals her feelings for Clark. It appears that Clark also has feelings for Lois but what does he do with Lana? Guess we’ll find out in mid-January when the series continues.


    Does Lois really love Clark or …

    Roswell, what can I say, the same thing happened there. I watched a rerun one day after it was in syndication and was hook-line-sinkered….I had to buy the season DVDs, once again. It’s basically about aliens (2 brothers and a sister) living among humans, not by their choice, in Roswell, New Mexico. You hear aliens and you immediately envision little green creatures, but that is far from the truth.


    Here with me….

    Sadly it lasted but 3 seasons and had both romance and sci-fi — on par with X-Files writing. It included teen angst, relationships and breakups, not knowing who you really are, keeping your ‘alien’ secrets from your adopted parents, and trying to live a normal human life without having to reveal your secrets to others (ala Clark in Smallville). But they have a special relationship among them, in that they will always take care of each other.

    I just wished it lasted more than 3 seasons. 😥

    What can I say about Dawson’s Creek? I caught the final episode of the 6-year series run and again was hook-line-sinkered. And again I had to buy 6 seasons of DVDs to really understand the full meaning of the final episode….this was the beginning of many a sleepless night. The story line is of 5 teenagers as they struggle their way through teen angst and adolescence. In the 6 seasons the series aired, it covered so much ground in its time, the perilous journey of being a teenager and soul mates.


    Dawson did not end up with Joey at the end……

    The drama of being an adolescent, homosexuality issues (I believe this was the first-ever showing of two gay men kissing in a TV series ) and the pain of unrequited love. The dialogue of the teen characters was way beyond the normal high school students in terms of verbosity and 10-letter words that were being said. “I’m talking about the romantic apotheosis.” WWD!?!? BTW it means glorification, exaltation. Dawson and Joey would spend the night together, something that they have been doing since they were little kids. There is a ladder placed near the 2nd-floor window of Dawson’s room where Joey would frequently make her entrance/exit.


    Trouble sleeping….

    You just didn’t see that sort of situation being shown on TV during that period. I think we all fell into their make-believe world that they have created. Will Dawson be together with Joey? Will Pacey and Joey be together? Will Pacey and Dawson regain the close friendship and trust that they’ve had since they were kids? Will Jack find his love? Will the ladder ever disappear from below Dawson’s bedroom window? 😆


    That’s Why I Love You….

    I think I have found the answer to my question on why we become addicted to these TV shows. I’ve lived through some of the events the characters in the shows have brought to TV life. I can relate to some of the ups and downs growing up as a teenager. This is why we watch these TV shows, to feel and see emotions that we cannot or do not feel in our own lives. We relive our younger years vicariously through them. I watch the shows just for the MUSIC that they introduce in each episode. 😆 So what is your excuse for planting yourself in front of the TV so religiously each week?

    • Anklebiters permalink
      September 11, 2011 1:16 am

      Sorry about all of the ‘Embedding disabled by request”…..just click on the Watch on YouTube” just below it..

    • September 13, 2011 7:47 pm

      Thanks for sharing 🙂

  12. September 11, 2011 6:58 am

    now i know much 😀

  13. September 12, 2011 4:51 pm

    Yes you did just feature Jessie Spano’s sing-along nervous breakdown. Made my day, too 🙂

    • September 13, 2011 7:41 pm

      Hehe, maybe one of my favorite Saved By The Bell episodes of all time. I thought it was about time Jessie showed her crazy. 🙂

  14. September 20, 2011 9:01 am

    It’s like this was written specifically for me. I don’t think I was excited enough last night with the premieres of HIMYM and Castle.

    Yay Fall Season!!!! and vicariously living through the lives and stories of others without any responsiblity for the drama.

    I always hated that particular episode of Saved By The Bell and I alway, ALWAYS, muted the TV when Jessie would break out into that song. It’s like the worst song to hear and get stuck in your head.

    One of my favorite shows to ‘learn lessons’ from is Boy Meets World. I’m working on a post about that actually. Well, working = working in my mind right now. But still.

    • September 24, 2011 9:30 pm

      Yeah, I gotta mute Jessie’s crazytown song as well. It’s just too much – and it gets stuck in my head for DAYS!!! 🙂 You know what, Boy Meets World was a really good show for life lessons. I totally forgot about that show. Looking forard to your post about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

