Skip to content

Breakup Parties: National Media Outlet Looking for Stories

January 12, 2012

Oh, hello there, readers. I hope you don’t mind so many posts this week but I wanted to bring this opportunity to you straight away.

I’m working with a national media outlet on a story about breakup parties. Did you know that Vivica Fox’s bridesmaids threw her a breakup party to celebrate calling off her wedding? It was complete with “Viv dodged the bullet” t-shirts. Keeping it classy, ladies. My contact is looking for stories of men and women who have gone through a breakup or divorce and decided to make a celebration out of it. Are you currently planning a breakup party? If so, this media outlet would love to come and cover your celebration! Just think, you could be the next Kim Kardashian. Only with a much smaller ass.

Also, I know a lot of my readers are almost-brides who cancelled their weddings. If you have any stories about using items from your wedding for something else post-breakup (like the way I used my wedding cake for birthday cakes for my mom and me) or if you turned your unwedding day into something empowering, please share those stories too! (These may be used by the same media outlet for another story.)

Please email your stories to simplysoloblog@gmail.com. And feel free to share them in the comments as well. I’m sure my readers would love to hear the ways you turned your heartbreak into something positive!

Have you entered the Rioja Wines contest yet? If you want to win a pair of Manolo Blahniks, an iPad2 or a wine party for 20 from Rioja Wines, go to this link by Saturday and enter your email address and zip code. There’s a competition at work to see who can get the most entries. Will you please consider entering to help me out? If you have multiple email addresses, enter them all! And do share the contest with your friends and family! The competition is REALLY tight, so every entry helps!

Most importantly, thanks to all of you that have entered so far. It’s official: I have the best readers on earth. Thanks, everyone!


12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 10:38 am

    Entered the contest! BTW I love what you are doing on this site, it’s really great!

    • January 15, 2012 10:29 pm

      Thank you so much for your support and the kind words about the blog. You sort of made my day with your comment 🙂

  2. January 12, 2012 10:42 am

    The breakup party sounds so fun I’m tempted to breakup just for the flashy t-shirts. Unfortunatley, I don’t have any juicy story 😦

    • January 12, 2012 2:02 pm

      Haha. You can’t break up… Would be heart breaking for your readers who planned your wedding!! 🙂

  3. January 12, 2012 1:02 pm

    LOL I had a Divorce is Sweet party that was a giant desserts party. My friend is getting divorced now and we’ve been thinking of doing a breakup party for HER.

    • January 12, 2012 2:02 pm

      Thanks for letting me know! When are you thinking for the divorce party? Would you be willing to let this media outlet join you and chronicle the experience? Thanks!

      • January 13, 2012 2:28 pm

        Her divorce is next week so we were thinking of an Anti Valentine’s sort of thing. I’m not sure. I could ask her if she’d be comfortable. We probably wouldn’t be very scandalous though, we’re not like that LOL

        • January 15, 2012 10:27 pm

          Thanks so much for the info… I’ve passed it along and we’ll be in touch if there are next steps! I appreciate your sharing!

  4. January 12, 2012 10:28 pm

    Whoa, break-up party sounds way better than an engagement party. Hawt!

  5. January 15, 2012 10:03 am

    I threw a divorce party last year, came up with the B.I.G Party idea (Bitch Is Gone http://www.bitchisgone.com) On thing led to another and I ended up turning it into a business adding the B.I.G sister site Bastard Is Gone (www.bastardisgone.com) . I’d be happy to provide B.I.G merchandise if to any of the featured parties! lol!

Leave a Reply

