Skip to content

Be Perfect

April 19, 2012

Transform my life. Make me struggle to remember the world before you – before us.

Listen to my hopes and help me build my dreams. Convince me I’m as beautiful as you say I am.

Reassure me when I’m scared, insecure, doubtful or untrusting. The past is powerful, but it doesn’t have to define me. I won’t let it.

Photo courtesy of Kicki

Hold my hand at the doctor. Play with my hair as I fall asleep. Take me for ice cream even when you don’t want any.

Be everything he wasn’t. Be all the good things he was.

Surprise me. Wait, don’t surprise me. Be dependable, trustworthy and totally unsurprising.

Kiss me. Have no ulterior motives or intentions, but to simply kiss me.

Demonstrate passion. For your work, your family, your life. For me.

Promise you’ll never hurt me, lie to me or cause me pain.

Keep your promises.

Tell me you are madly in love with me. Don’t stop telling me until I truly believe it.

Be perfect.

Forgive me if I’m asking for too much.

 

Some other creative writings from Simply Solo:

Settler

I Want Romance

I Miss You Sometimes

 

Copyright 2012. Simply Solo blog by Catherine Gryp. All Rights Reserved.


31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 10:58 am

    Awesome post today. One of my favorites that you’ve put together.

    • April 25, 2012 10:06 pm

      Aww, thank you Small Pond. You literally made my week when I read this 🙂

  2. April 19, 2012 11:34 am

    I love this! It totally explains what I am going through right now as well.

    • April 25, 2012 10:06 pm

      Godandboyfriends,
      Glad this resonated with you and thanks for commenting and making me feel less alone 🙂

  3. April 19, 2012 12:02 pm

    I don’t think you’re asking for too much at all.

    • April 25, 2012 10:06 pm

      Mark,
      Thanks for reading/commenting. You are such a good guy, I can always tell from not just your writing but your comments. I don’t think I’m asking for too much either. And luckily, Chef is so many of these things. He gives me hope that some people can be exactly who they say they are.

  4. April 19, 2012 12:05 pm

    This brought tears to my eyes. I know these thoughts. Know that it is possible and when it happens all the hurts from the past fall away. I still don’t believe in promises though. Actions are what count. Beautifully written, Catherine.

    • April 25, 2012 10:05 pm

      Thank you, Lisat. I agree about actions being what count the most. But, some promises will never be tested, and others will, but if you deliver as promised on the promises tested, then I will trust that the other promises will be the same. Okay that was a super complex statement. I’m just saying make promises, keep them, and even if you aren’t tested on some, watching you keep other promises will help me build trust, bit by bit.

  5. April 19, 2012 12:16 pm

    I love this!

  6. Nancianne permalink
    April 19, 2012 12:17 pm

    What a great post! You express your heart and soul’s desire so honestly.

    Ahhhh the expectations we have! My struggle struggle with them is this…as I study more I am learning that expectations of other’s behaviors are what set us up for disappointment, as in, are we expecting something from them that they don’t have to give? Not because they are “bad” but because it is just not who they are? The next question for me then is this: do I let go of the expectation or do I let go of the relationship? Defining the expectation as either unreasonable, period…as in unreasonable of me to have altogether, or just unreasonable to have of the individual in question.

    • April 25, 2012 10:02 pm

      Nancianne,
      Wow that’s a difficult question and I’m not sure I have an answer (who does?). I guess you need to figure out for yourself what the non-negotiables are. If you meet a great guy who is missing one of them (a love of children or a good sense of humor, for example, if these items are important to you), this doesn’t make this guy a bad person. He’s just not right for you. Once you have that list then it may be easier to know what to settle on.

      I just wonder if the answer will be easier if you decide the non-negotiable items before trying attach them to a man. Be reasonable, and then date with purpose. Select your partner with purpose.

      Maybe? 🙂

  7. April 19, 2012 12:23 pm

    I don’t wnat perfect just poerfect for me ..a nd yes I love it when “he” (who ever he may eb) plays with my hair

    • April 25, 2012 9:58 pm

      Exactly. My list might not be perfect for anyone else…but it’s perfect for me 🙂
      Nothing better than a good hair play!

  8. 2NewBeginnings permalink
    April 19, 2012 2:44 pm

    Not asking too much at all. It’s everything all of girls want. That doesn’t make them perfect, just perfect for us! Oh yeah, I’m a sucker for my guy playing with my hair too! 🙂 Very nice!

    • April 25, 2012 9:52 pm

      Nothing better than the man you love playing with your hair! 🙂 I agree I don’t think this is asking too much at all!
      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  9. Banannie permalink
    April 19, 2012 3:20 pm

    I just saw this blog after googling “break up”… yeah pathetic. this is so beautiful. broke up with him last night.. so grateful for this the morning after my heart is shattered

    • April 25, 2012 9:51 pm

      Banannie,
      Not pathetic. About a thousand people a day find my blog through that very same search. I hope you are doing okay 🙂

  10. April 19, 2012 7:24 pm

    Lovely, lovely. 🙂

  11. April 20, 2012 3:09 am

    Reblogged this on The Hmong in Me and commented:
    So well written! I love love love it! I’m a hopeless romantic. I hope for a man to treat me in every possible ways just like this written piece of writing.

  12. Charlotte permalink
    April 20, 2012 5:16 am

    Catherine, it´s beautiful, but if you have to ASK for it, does it mean you´re not getting from Chef? Are you happy in your relationship?

    • April 25, 2012 9:47 pm

      Hi Charlotte,
      Thanks for your comment! I wondered if someone would take it that way. The funny thing is, Chef is so many of the things on this list. I had different endings to this post… One of them was something along the lines of “Be perfect. But I’m afraid even perfect won’t be good enough.” The inspiration for this list is actually all the things that Chef is and does… and then I find myself still doubting, still worrying, still afraid to take the leap and say “this is a wonderful man, a wonderful relationship and we could have a wonderful future.” His near-perfection is almost scary to me.

  13. April 20, 2012 11:49 am

    It is what we all want…to be loved unconditionally and to give love unconditionally…who wants to worry if you are going to be lied to, cheated on, or hurt?…the problem is we live off of past experiences…no one wants to get burned twice (or three, or five, or twenty six) times…we just try not to…and the trying gets very, very old. Somewhere once I read, “Be the change you want.” I try to live it.

    Be encouraged!

    • April 25, 2012 9:43 pm

      Thank you Stephen! It really is hard to giveyour love away unconditionally after being proven wrong in the past. I hope that I have the strength to do it again though…parts of me feel like they are waking up to this possibility again. I hope it continues 🙂

  14. April 22, 2012 11:00 pm

    Loves asks not, but only trust and fidelity.

    Everything else falls into place, the stuff from your list because the other person wants to.

    • April 25, 2012 9:36 pm

      “Love asks not, but only trust and fidelity.”
      Now THAT is beautiful. And at the end of the day, that’s so much more important than so many other things we *think* are important.

  15. April 23, 2012 10:25 pm

    really beautiful, raw, honest, and brave. I love this. It’s so exactly what we think, what we want, and don’t usually say. We’re always expected to compromise, to let go of the fantasy– but why? Why settle for less than perfect? Why not expect the unreasonable?

    Hear hear!

    xxx

    • April 25, 2012 9:35 pm

      Thanks, Larissa!! Glad you liked it. The thing is, I look at the specific things in this list, and I’m not sure it’s asking for too much. Perfection doesn’t have to mean literally being perfect. Notice I didn’t say have the perfect body, an amazing paying job, etc etc. But some things shouldn’t be negotiable… and shouldn’t be asking for too much. So kind of a mixed message in this post 🙂

  16. April 29, 2012 9:56 am

    Catherine, you’re so insightful and display such a wonderful reflection of your heart and spirit! I’ll be checking with you regularly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

