Skip to content

Three Months in iPhone Pictures

May 6, 2012

I have a dozen excuses for why I haven’t written much on Simply Solo lately. I’m busy. I’m traveling a ton for work. I’ve gotten lazy with my writing. My life simply isn’t that interesting.

I’m happy.

There, I said it. While I find myself feeling stressed out and exhausted, I also find myself feeling happy. Happy with new projects and challenges at work. Happy to see new places, even if it means I’ve spent more time on a plane in recent months than I have in the past five years combined. Happy with the time Chef and I have been spending together. Happy watching my sister enter the third trimester of her pregnancy.

Would somebody knock on wood, please? It feels almost criminal to admit to being happy in front of all these witnesses. I’m probably asking for trouble.

My goal with Simply Solo has always been to tell complete stories – to let each post stand alone. I try not to write many posts that simply detail the daily happenings of my life. And because I put so much pressure on myself to make every post count, when I’m busy and can’t find the time to write a substantial post, I don’t write at all.

So here we are, four months into 2012, and all you know I’ve done this year is that I went to Hawaii and went skydiving. Oh, and that I got a crazy skin condition called Margarita Dermatitis from the hidden menace that is the lime. (I’m happy to note that my skin is all better!)

But I know other things have happened … right?

It’s kind of sad when you have to turn to your iPhone to figure out what you’ve done in the past three months. On the other hand, it’s fun to look back at the random things you take pictures of.

And here are my last three months told to you in iPhone pictures.

Watching it snow outside my window. Snow is one of my absolute favorite things.

I’m wondering if I should move to somewhere it snows more than once a year, since I enjoy it so much.

snow angel, snow, playing in snow

Isn’t this a beautiful snow angel?

Making a snow angel

Post-snow angel. Fuzzy and out of focus – the epitome of my iPhone pictures.

bone marrow food

I went to the Blue Goat restaurant for my friend Megan’s birthday. They serve all parts of the animal – from snout to tail. This is bone marrow. I’ll be honest, it was kinda gross to me. But I’m glad I tried it! That night I also tried goat and rabbit.

Chocolate table

In February, I attended Chocoholic, a fundraiser for CHIP of Greater Richmond. It was an entire event dedicated to the love of chocolate, including tasting tables and chocolate fountains galore. This was the only picture I took. I was too busy putting myself in a chocolate coma. My favorite discovery was chocolate covered caramel with sea salt on top. Who knew sea salt and chocolate could be so amazing?

ceiling light and chandelier

Chef and I installed this light in my living room, complete with a dimmer switch! I can’t tell you how proud of this project we are. And I’m glad to report, no one got electrocuted in the process.

Virginia Fine Arts Museum

For Valentine’s Day, Chef and I went to the Virginia Fine Arts Museum. These guys cracked me up. I like to imagine what they are thinking. “My belly button hurts!”

Statue at VMFA

“Who’s ready to par-tay? I’ve got the tequila!”

statues at museum

“It wasn’t me!”

Painting by Frederick Carl Frieseke

This was my absolute favorite painting at VMFA. This is by Frederick Carl Frieseke.

Painting at VMFA

Here’s a close up.

Doll art VMFA

Now this piece of art creeped me out.

Barbie doll art

Here’s a closer look. Yes, those are dolls. This has the potential for some serious bad dreams.

London broil dinner

I was lucky enough to have two Valentine’s Day dinners: Chef took me out to Strawberry St. Cafe after the museum and he also made this fabulous London broil dinner.

Broccolini and carrots

Chef introduced me to my new favorite vegetable: broccolini. We now eat it at least once a week. Although I think he’s getting tired of making it!

VCU Final Four banner

Chef and I also went to a VCU basketball game. It was my first basketball game ever – and they won!

VCU basketball game

It was a lot of fun to be there in person! I’m almost a sports fan. Almost.

Shaka Smart, VCU basketball game

Okay, not really being a sports fan, I can’t tell you what they are doing here. What I can tell you is that Shaka Smart, sexiest man on VCU campus, is in this pic.

candy bar dessert at Pasture Richmond, VA

After the game, we went for a really great meal at Pasture. This is their famous candy bar dessert. Yes, that’s Nutella. It doesn’t get much better than this.

St. Patrick's Day, gumby

Of course, Megan and I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day again this year. And we met a celebrity – Gumby!

car in parking spot at airport

This is one of about 10 similar pictures on my iPhone. This is my attempt not to forget where I parked my car at the airport. Let’s just say I learned this lesson the hard way.

cowboy boots in Nashville

Work sent me to Nashville for a few days and I decided to go boot shopping. I told everyone my goal of the trip was to buy cowboy boots. Until I realized a: they aren’t cheap (many at $300+ a pair) and b: I don’t actually like cowboy boots. But it was a lot of fun to look!

Capital Grille, Hermitage, Nashville

While in Nashville, I stopped by the Capital Grille. This is a famous bar inside the historic Hermitage Hotel. The bar used to have an underground pathway to the capital so that legislators could easily visit the bar.

pork rinds

At the bar, I tried pork rinds for the first time ever. I liked them. Then I Googled what they were. I didn’t like them anymore.

Hermitage hotel bathroom

While at the Hermitage bar, I was informed that I had to check out the men’s bathroom, which had been voted the best restroom in America. Here are some shots. Yes, I felt shady taking pictures inside a men’s restroom.

Hermitage Hotel bathroom

Cool art-deco design

Hermitage hotel bathroom urinals

Yes, taking pictures of urinals is totally normal.

Hermitage hotel Nashville bathroom

There are two chairs in the bathroom where you can get your shoes shined. Sadly, I don’t think I’ve ever owned a pair of shoes that needed to be shined.

Hermitage hotel bathroom

Just use this phone to call someone to the bathroom to shine your shoes! Cause that’s not weird or anything.

Hermitage hotel bathroom Nashville TN

I secretly want a green sink in my bathroom now.

Words With Friends epic play

An important part of my life these past three months have been epic plays on Words With Friends. Am I the only one who takes pictures of stuff like this?

Miami South Beach

Next up, I went to Miami for work. I spent a little bit of time walking the beach (my favorite pastime) and liked how they painted each of their lifeguard stands differently.

Miami mixed grill dinner

We went to a restaurant in South Beach called the Pelican, and ordered this mixed grill off their specials menu. You can imagine my surprise when the check came, and this “mixed grill” was $110. If I knew it cost that much, I would have enjoyed it more (or maybe not ordered it at all)!

sangria

I also went to Jackson, Mississippi and Columbus, Ohio for work. I didn’t take many pictures there, but this delicious sangria from a Jackson restaurant about made my week.

slumber party

I mentioned before that my good friend Teya was moving to Chicago. We had a fun slumber party before she left. It was great to hang out with the girls and rock some PJs!

South of the Border

Next up: a trip to Myrtle Beach with the family for a wedding. Of course, we had to stop at South of the Border to revel in its ridiculousness. I was happy to find an ice cream statue so I could show my appreciation for the perfect food.

Walking up to Myrtle Beach, pathway to beach

This is my favorite feeling: The moment before you step on the beach, feel the wind in your hair and the sand on your toes.

Myrtle beach, waves, water

I think I’m meant to live right here.

jellyfish Myrtle Beach

Although, I could live without the jelly fish. Found this guy on the sand.

wedding in Myrtle Beach, classic antique car

Here’s me in front of the special car for the bride and groom. Not sure if they intended for us to take pictures in front of it … but we sure did!

Holding baby

Proof that I don’t hate babies. And that they don’t freak out in my arms. I’m practicing for my sister’s little boy who will be joining us later this summer!

text with boyfriend

Sweetest hashtag/text ever from Chef. Okay, not the one about the Wawa sub. That was me bragging about my yummy dinner.

Applebee's blondie sundae

Chef and I did the suburbs thing one night and went to Applebee’s. My sole purpose for going? The Macadamia Nut Blondie Sundae. The best thing on the menu.

Stir fry and rice dinner

Someone once said I should take pictures of all the meals Chef cooks me and post them as a collage on the blog. It occurs to me that almost all of them include broccolini. Here was a great chicken stir fry he made.

chicken parmesan

And some chicken parmesan …

And goat cheese stuffed chicken … I have about a million shots of food Chef makes me. What I really should take a picture of is my thighs because that’s where it’s all going!

Detoit airport art, walkway, music and lights

I also visited Detroit a few times for work. Here is the walkway in the airport. They have crazy psychedelic art work and music playing. It’s relaxing, in a “I feel like I’m in the 60s” way.

Heidelberg Project, polka dot house

While in Detroit, I visited the Heidelberg Project, an art display in one of Detroit’s dilapidated neighborhoods. Tyree Guyton and his family are using this abandoned neighborhood in Detroit to display art and draw attention to social inequities and the abandonment of neighborhoods.

Heidelberg ProjectHeidelberg art project

Heidelberg art project

There were pictures of this guy everywhere with different messages on his signs.

Heidelberg art project

Heidelberg Project

This house was really interesting to me with all the stuffed animals hanging from it.

Heidelberg Project

Close up on some of the animals. Cool but also a little creepy, eh?

Heidelberg Project, stuffed animal house

This one is for my sister who loves elephants.

Heidelberg Project

The animals on the roof look very stoic.

cinco de mayo, sombreros

In the most awkward transition ever, here’s Megan and me celebrating Cinco de Mayo this past weekend! Of course, it’s not a celebration without the appropriate head-gear.

 

So, that’s my past three months in a nutshell – if you call more than 50 pictures a nutshell. What pictures do you have on your cell phone? How has 2012 been for you so far?

Copyright 2012. Simply Solo blog by Catherine Gryp. All Rights Reserved.


18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 1:03 pm

    Awesome pictures, you must have a great camera too. You are leading a very interesting life I would say. Good for you. Your writing is always enjoyable to say the least, but write when you can and the rest of the time have fun. You go girl…..

    • May 7, 2012 6:17 pm

      Thanks dapeach! I appreciate it. Ha, I was sitting here thinking that my iPhone camera is pretty terrible! But, it’s good for capturing these little moments. My life has been pretty interesting lately, and I’m really happy I wrote this post. Going through these pictures was a good reminder of all I’ve been doing! When are you so go-go-go, sometimes you forget the cool things you actually did!

  2. May 7, 2012 4:49 pm

    I think posting pics from your phone like this is a great idea for a post! Of course, some of mine are – how to say it delicately? – NSFW. But I could always skip over those.

    So much to comment on, but I’m just going to stick with this:

    Bone marrow? Really?!?!

    • May 7, 2012 6:15 pm

      Mark I’d LOVE to see your iPhone pictures – especially those that are NSFW. 🙂 I think we all have a few of those…
      Bone marrow. They described it to me as tasting like a mix of butter and the fat on a ribeye steak. And they were saying that to describe how good it was. I ate it and it tasted exactly like that – only in a disgustingly gross way. And this is coming from the girl who liked cow tongue as a child. But at least I can say I tried it!

      • May 7, 2012 7:04 pm

        But have you tried geoduck?

        My NSFW pics are of the Android variety. But still, NSFW is NSFW!! 😉

  3. May 7, 2012 7:07 pm

    5 years ago, I started dating a “chef” – 5 years later…. i am on my way to losing the 35 lbs I gained from all of Chef’s food!! (10 more to go!). I love loving a Chef, but man it is killer on the thighs!! Great post! Thanks for sharing! On my phone, I have an abnormal amount of pictures of my feet…. I find myself lounging around, playing with my phone and shooting pictures of my feet – in shoes or with a new pedicure. It’s kind of weird now that I actually think about it!!

    • May 26, 2012 11:54 pm

      Rambling,
      Good luck losing 25 Chef pounds! I’m trying to lose my few I’ve gained already. 🙂 That’s funny about your feet. I have a few pics of my feet on my phone too – pretty much anytime I go to the beach I feel required to take a picture of my feet in the sand. You aren’t alone!

  4. May 7, 2012 7:08 pm

    Hey – i loved your piccys , me and my best mate decided this year to post a picture a day because we always take random pictures on our iphones and its fab looking back at each others ! – i post mine on my blog http://www.sammi457.com, Its amazing how you can get so busy you forget the things you have done !! – cant wait to see the next 3 months !!

  5. May 7, 2012 9:12 pm

    Very cool, great pictures! Very happy you are happy, you deserve it!

  6. mom permalink
    May 8, 2012 7:21 am

    Great post Catherine sure loved the beach trip we all need another ROAD TRIP …..Soon.
    You could write about Fred the inch worm and it would be a great read..
    lov ya

    • May 26, 2012 11:55 pm

      Love you Mom! I had fun on the road trip too. We’ll have to do another soon!

  7. May 8, 2012 8:29 am

    I’m jealous that you met Gumby.

  8. Carl Gahry permalink
    June 5, 2012 6:21 pm

    Hey Catherine, so you mentioned this blog about those pictures in Detroit to me on a plane last night back to Richmond. I must say that they’re really interesting and kind of shocks me that this was there and I didn’t even know about it lol. Anyways, your blog is really interesting and I think it’s great!

    -Carl

    • Carl Gahry permalink
      June 5, 2012 6:48 pm

      Oh yeah, You look like you’re about 19 😉 ( I hope this makes sense to you so I don’t look like an idiot) lol

    • June 5, 2012 9:18 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Carl! I’m glad I could introduce you to something in your home town! I hope you had a safe trip home last night. It was great to meet you and I know you REALLY meant that I looked 19 when you said 29. Remember, always estimate downward a woman’s age! 🙂

Leave a Reply

