Skip to content

Culturally Inept

July 14, 2011

I suspected I had a problem when, at my 26th birthday party, I told a group of friends, “I never knew Richard Gere was so hot when he was young. I just watched An Officer and a Gentleman – what a great movie!”

officer and a gentleman coverThey all looked at me like I was nuts. Was I really just now watching An Officer and a Gentleman? Worse, did I just realize that a movie starring Richard Gere existed pre-Pretty Woman?

Yes and yes. I’m not proud.

I confirmed I had a problem this week, when I found myself watching – and enjoying – the first two Harry Potter movies, and finally understanding the phenomenon. I had never read any of the books, nor had I watched any of the movies. In fact, two weeks ago, I probably couldn’t have told you anything more than they have something to do with magic and this nerdy looking kid with glasses.

And now I’m getting ready to watch the third movie. For a brief moment, I considered trying to watch all the movies in time for the final movie that opens tonight. But alas, I have a job, and couldn’t think of an illness that would allow me to call in sick for two days but still write a blog post about how I watched all the Harry Potter movies in a two-day period just in time for Thursday’s opening.

Sigh. Being employed is hard.

The fact that I am just now a huge fan of Harry Potter and An Officer and a Gentleman is indicative of a larger problem that I have:

I’m culturally inept. And, I am late to everything.

You know early adopters? For example, the people who lined up for days to get the first iPad? Or the people who fall in love with a band before they are No. 1 on the Billboard charts?

I am not one of those people. I find things to be cool just when they are going out of style. I learn about trends when they are smacking me in my face everywhere I turn. My getting involved in a trend is a surefire sign that the trend is near its completion.

My recent Harry Potter experience got me thinking of things I’ve been late to in my life. I realized a list was in order. So here’s my list of things I’ve been late to/examples of my cultural ineptitude:

An Officer and a Gentleman – As previously mentioned, but let’s just say that this movie represents all classic movies. I hardly watched any movies growing up, so if you are having a conversation with me, just know that about every movie reference or quote you say is going to be lost on me. Unless, of course, the quote is from any of the following movies: Dirty Dancing, Jerry Maguire, P.S. I Love You or any romantic-comedy starring Jennifer Aniston.

Harry Potter – As previously mentioned, but really, how did I miss this one?

Lady Gaga – I remember being excited after discovering Lady Gaga, only to find that “Bad Romance” was No. 1 on the Billboard charts and my friend Cameron had already attended her concert. Really?

Ballet flats – Just when I finally built up my collection of ballet flats – you need a brown pair, a black pair, one for fun, one for work, another pair that looked comfortable online but really are the most uncomfortable pair of shoes on earth, which is so unfair because they are FLATS for goodness sake – everyone decided ballet flats are so last season. Ugh. It also took me entirely too long to get on board with pointed toe shoes. I thought they looked like slices of pizza on your feet. Now I love them. Probably just in time for the rounded toe to come back. Typical.

Shopping for pleasure – By this, I mean not just shopping because you need something. Shopping for the experience of shopping, of looking at things, considering what you may want to purchase in the future.

On the way to the lake the other day, my sister asked if we could stop at the Hallmark store. I didn’t need anything, so thought about just staying in the car, but went in to keep her company. First of all, have you guys seen Hallmark stores lately? They are crazy! This one had WAY more than just birthday cards and Christmas ornaments (which is about all I associate Hallmark stores with). This store had shoes, jewelry, purses, candy, luggage, snow globes, coffee cups and so much more. Oh, and cards. By the time we walked out of the store, I had a list of things that I wanted that I didn’t even know I wanted: a Vera Bradley large duffel bag, a pair of Rainbow flip flops, a gorgeous Hobo blue wallet/purse, a business card holder, scissors with a pretty polka-dot design on the handle and a charm bracelet (because how cool would it be if I had a charm bracelet – and people bought me charms to go on it? I mean I could have an ice cream cone, or a book, or a beach umbrella. Never mind I don’t really like charm bracelets. That’s irrelevant). Oh, and I can’t forget, a kaleidoscope. Because who doesn’t want a kaleidoscope?

Okay, maybe I’d be better off if I didn’t jump on board the “shopping for pleasure” bandwagon. For the record, I only bought the duffel bag, the sandals and the business card holder. That’s restraint people.

Blogs – I first heard about blogs in 2003 during one of my first college communications classes. My professor said, “There is this new phenomenal called blogs, and you should really pay attention because they are going to be huge. Just wait and watch.” I remember thinking, in my sarcastic 18-year-old voice, “Whatever. I doubt it.” Ummmm. This is embarrassing.

Sex – Speaking of embarrassing, you guys know I don’t talk about sex a lot here, what, with my mom and half my company reading Simply Solo. Oh, except this post from last year. But I do have to make a quick reference here – who knew sex could be so good? Until recently, I had always empathized with the stereotypical married mother on TV who pretends to have a head ache to get out of having sex. I just wasn’t that into it. I mean, sure, sometimes I could get on board. But most times, I would easily turn down sex for a good night’s sleep. Or a bowl of ice cream. Let’s just say, this has changed in the past year.

bacon cooking in a pan, bacon heart

Hmmm who doesn't love bacon? Photo courtesy of not_on_display

Making bacon – Which sort of sounds like a euphemism for sex (henceforth, having sex will be referred to as “making bacon” on this blog. You have been warned.). Tuesday night, I cooked bacon for the first time in my life. My friend Dawn purchased me two HUGE tomatoes at the Hanover Tomato Festival last weekend. Not knowing what exactly to do with them (I don’t cook, like, ever), she also loaned me bread, bacon and lettuce to make a BLT. Okay, people, I know, I need to go to the store and stop mooching off of my friends.

THE REAL LESSON FOLLOWS: When I was cooking the bacon for my sandwich, I realized I have never made bacon before. I’ve watched plenty of people make bacon, and I’ve eaten it here and there, but have never made it or acquired a taste for it. Bacon was always one of those forbidden foods when you’ve spent your entire adulthood watching your weight. Bacon, Five Guys, fried chicken, cinnamon rolls and country fried steak are also on that list. But I gotta tell you, that sandwich was amazing. So good that I ate another the very next day. So let’s just say I finally get Baconmania. About two years after Baconmania was declared over.

MySpace – I had just completed my MySpace profile and gotten the layout just right (remember layouts?!), when everyone moved to Facebook. What a letdown. But I will say, with my job in public relations, I’ve rectified my lateness on social media trends. I’ve always been very proud that I joined Twitter in the summer of 2008, and I’m still going strong, while many are just now getting started.

How I Met Your Mother – For years, people told me what a great show this was. But I couldn’t get past the fact that Willow from Buffy the Vampire Slayer was on it – I never liked her. And, it was on CBS, and we ALL know CBS = old people. Late last year, HIMYM reruns started to run on Lifetime. And I became hooked. I now spend evenings changing from Lifetime to WGN to Fox to catch as any episodes as possible. This show has definitely supplanted Friends and Felicity as my favorite TV show of all time.

Are you ahead of the trends or are you a late adopter like me? I’m looking to expand my horizons a bit – anything you think I should try?

And don’t believe I love lists? Here’s a list (haha) of some other lists I’ve written for the blog:

Top 10 empowering breakup songs

Top 10 best/worst breakup songs

Signs you are an adult

Hot professions

Not so hot professions

How to cancel a wedding

Why I hate Mr. Big

10 things I learned in 2010

10 ways to lose a guy (maybe in 10 days)

Things I love about being single

Things that have changed since I last dated in 2003

My dating bucket list

Things you are entitled to on your birthday

82 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 8:11 am

    Haha, it took me forever to adopt the ballet flats. Ditto flair jeans when they were in, ditto skinny jeans as well. And I was living in London when Lady Gaga hit the charts; I remember one of my flatmates coming back from having spent Christmas in the US and telling us, “There’s this new singer… Lady-something-or-other?” Then I heard “Just Dance” for the first time and I was like, “OMG!!! This is amazing!”

    Fortunately living in the UK had its benefits– that Cascada song (“Evacuate the Dance Floor”) was big over there way before it come here so I was able to be all like, “Cascada? Please, she is SO yesterday.” Also X Factor– I’m really excited that I’m going to be ahead of the game when Simon Cowell makes his American comeback this fall because it took me months of living in London to learn the rules but now I’ll know them before everyone else!

    Woohoo!

    • July 14, 2011 9:10 pm

      Kat,
      I was listening to Cosmo Radio (my dumb driving time), and they kept playing Bad Romance. I came to work and told a coworker all about it… turns out everyone knew, and was about tired, of that song but me. haha

      Now….. the sad thing about your comment (but fitting) is that I have NO IDEA what the hell you are talking about for any of these. Who is Cascada What is X Factor? I’m so lost!!! LOL

  2. Jeff W. permalink
    July 14, 2011 8:40 am

    New trend for ya – Noodle Bars! 🙂

    • July 14, 2011 9:06 pm

      Haha, Jeff!! If it’s any good, I’m going to lead that trend. I’ll be the biggest noodle bar early adopter you’ve ever seen! (and about 300 pounds after eating all those noodles, lol!)

  3. July 14, 2011 8:42 am

    Usually I’m a late comer, too. I’m glad you’re into HIMYM now. Love that show!

    • July 14, 2011 9:05 pm

      Me too! This year would have had many less laughs if I didn’t discover HIMYM. Wait… is that pathetic? 🙂

  4. July 14, 2011 9:06 am

    Hi, Catherine….awesome post! I am also a latecomer….I only got into CDs (remember them?) because they stopped making cassette tapes! 🙂 I did get onboard with MP3 players fairly quickly once I understtod the premise.
    Television…the only shows I have followed from the beginning are Grey’s Anatomy and Body of Proof. Friends I never even saw until they were off the air and in repeat mode. Movies…so not going there. The list of what I have not seen would take years to write.
    Blogging…never even thought of it but now don’t know what I would do without.
    The bacon….I am shaking my head over that one…how could not have known the joys of bacon before now? 🙂

    • July 14, 2011 11:17 am

      DC BBW,

      People still looked at me like I have three eyes when I say I have not watched “Friends”. Sure, I have seen a random episode here or there, but not enough to know the characters or the premise of the show! Oh well…

      🙂

    • July 14, 2011 9:04 pm

      Thanks, DC BBW,
      Ha, that’s quite amazing that you missed the Friends phenomenon! As far as MP3s, I knew people were into them, but I didn’t really pay much attention. I just didn’t think I’d have a use for one. Then, my ex bought me an ipod on a whim. I enjoy it, and use it for the gym, but I’ve never put the effort in to get the most out of it. I need to build my music collection – but now, it seems everyone has it on their phone. I can’t keep up! 🙂

  5. July 14, 2011 9:27 am

    It’s whatever. Take it at your own pace. A discovery tends to improve your day and boost your mood. Having things handed to you (or pushed on you) tends not to. Live at your own pace, you’ll be happier for it.

    • July 14, 2011 8:59 pm

      Yeah, I hear you, Josh. My main problem though is it sucks that I’m always too late to these things I love. Because I could have been enjoying them longer! I planned to add sushi to this list, but forgot. I just randomly tried that on a fluke – the restaurant I wanted to go to had a long wait, so we went to the next restaurant and it was sushi so we tried it. I LOVED IT! So now I’m obsessed with sushi and avocados. (Had never had avocado before sushi). Wish I’d discovered it earlier, but better late than never, right?

  6. July 14, 2011 9:46 am

    I am pretty good on the music front. I tend to like the up-and-coming bands before the record labels get a hold of them. The rest of things and life in general? I’m always at least ten steps behind. I’m still impressed that I can talk AND text on this crazy cell phone 🙂

    • July 14, 2011 8:57 pm

      Haha, Tori. I am the WORST with music. I mean it’s bad. But that’s because I always listen to talk radio. I’ve actually only been to two concerts in my life! LOL!

  7. July 14, 2011 10:34 am

    LOL I loved this post 🙂 I pretty much am always in that boat as well… minus the bacon 🙂 I knew I loved back when I smelled it in utero… hahaha. jk… but I have always loved it. How I met your mother is great as well, and I too did not start watching it until the reruns…. ahh and the classic movies, I’m catching up on those as well… just recently say Casablanca, Gone with the Wind… and a few others. Did you know that Gone with the Wind is the highest grossing movie in theaters ever? How strange is that.

    • July 14, 2011 8:56 pm

      Thanks, Jeanna!
      Wow – I didn’t know that about Gone with the Wind. Your comment got me Googling about it, and this list is pretty interesting of the all time best selling movies http://boxofficemojo.com/alltime/adjusted.htm

      I just watched Casablanca too — good, but the problem with classics is that you expect them to be something really special, and while I liked that movie a lot, it’s kind of odd to me that it’s so popular!

  8. July 14, 2011 11:14 am

    Catherine,

    Don’t feel bad, I have never seen “An Officer and a Gentleman” either, shame on me and I LOVE movies??? But it is officially on my new inflated priced NetFlix list (yes I am bitter about the rate increase- grrr!), but I digress…

    Add Wine to your list! I am just becoming a wine drinker, not quite a connoisseur. Apparently it is a “grown-up” drink, so no more fruity college-type concoctions for me, I will have a glass of Cab Sauvignon please. Well, actually I prefer white, so Riesling it is! CHEERS!

    • July 14, 2011 8:52 pm

      Liber7tedsoul,
      You should watch it! I enjoyed it…mostly because Mr. Gere was such a cutie 🙂

      Wine is a good one. I actually got on the wine bandwagon a couple of years ago with my ex. Your comment just made me realize I’ve quit drinking wine. I think it’s because whenever I drink wine, I think of all the wine tastings we went on and all the bottles of wine we bought together. I can’t think of the last time I had wine, actually! What a funny realization! It’s funny how the brain copes, huh? I’ve just tackled beer since we broke up, trying to learn what I like/don’t, the different kinds, etc. That’s fun – but prob not as fun as wine 🙂

  9. July 14, 2011 11:20 am

    I’m definitely a latecomer to everything…I like to say that I march to the beat of my own drum ;p ballet Flats…well I guess I’ll just skip my shopping expedition for them this weekend since you say the trend is on it’s way out!! lol

    • July 14, 2011 8:49 pm

      Haha, Melissa, don’t trust me on the ballet flats! It’s almost 50-50 that I’m wrong about a fashion trend at any given time! LOL! I say you like them – go get a pair. But be careful – they are not as comfortable as they seem!! (which I totally don’t get…they are flats. No heals. They should feel like heavon on your feet!)

  10. July 14, 2011 11:38 am

    I really don’t like reading a book or watching a movie when there is so much hype about it. I have seen Harry Potter the early years but not the last two yet, I’ll probably see them at some point.
    I wouldn’t say I’m a latecover to everything, but either early or late. However I don’t ever see Justin Bieber being something I “get”.

    As for bacon, well… welcome to the club!

    • July 14, 2011 8:47 pm

      I “get” Justin Bieber, I just don’t particularly like him myself. But I understand why others like him. I, however, completely missed Harry Potter and Lady Gaga. Okay, I knew peripherally of Harry Potter, but really had a concept of what it was. But I gotta admit, that damn Lady Gaga came out of nowhere for me… and she already had two songs out! lol!

  11. July 14, 2011 12:42 pm

    Hey- it’s me, back after a hiatus. Don’t feel bad – I still haven’t seen Officer and a Gentleman. 🙂 And you can blame certain fashion trends on your location – things move slowly from East Coast to West Coast and vice-versa, and then over to Europe and they bounce back.

    As for the other things… well I wasn’t so behind the curve on those things. But the important thing is to keep doing/buying/reading/watching whatever you like, whether it’s “outdated” or not. Happiness is never out of style!

    • July 14, 2011 8:45 pm

      Beata!! Hello and how I’ve missed you! How the heck are you??

      An Officer and a Gentleman was good, but I would say that the best part of it was seeing how damned cute Richard Gere was. I never knew him before grey hair!

      “Happiness is never out of style!” Love it! 🙂 Good point.

  12. July 14, 2011 1:20 pm

    I wrote a post called “Late To The Party” once that talked about this very phenomenon. It took me forever to “discover” Lost, for example. Oops. But I do have to say, I’ve always loved An Officer And A Gentleman and How I Met Your Mother (as well as making bacon). Don’t forget, CBS also has Big Bang Theory and Hawaii Five-O. I think they’ve shed their “old people’s home” rep these past few years.

    • July 14, 2011 8:43 pm

      Mark,
      Discover Lost. haha. I was actually an early adopter for Lost, thanks for the reminder. I feel slightly better about myself. But that was only because of my mom’s influence. She said, “There’s this new show where this plane crashes on an island and it’s kind of like Big Brother. You have to watch it with me.” So, obviously she was WAY off, but we watched it that night, and then watched it together for years after. It became our thing 🙂 But I was waaaay before many others on that one.

      Okay, so you are right about Big Bang Theory. That show isn’t half bad. However, I associate Hawaii Five-O with old people. Not saying I have evidence. Lol.

      I’ll have to check out your Late to The Party post…. damn it, if it was recently, it’s possible I inadvertantly stole your idea. Sorry 🙂

  13. Mikalee Byerman permalink
    July 14, 2011 2:07 pm

    Twitter teaches me daily that I’m culturally inept. Trending topics typically include three or four names that I have never even HEARD. I have to look through the tweets just to gain context.

    And even then, sometimes I’m perplexed. When “#congratsdemi” was trending the other day, it took me a long time to figure out it wasn’t Demi Moore. And then to even figure out who Demi Lovato is…and why she was getting so many congrats for a song I’ve never even heard…

    😉

    • July 14, 2011 8:37 pm

      LOL Mikalee. At least you noticed that trending topic. But you are right, Twitter can show you how culturally inept you are. HOWEVER, it’s a huge source of my recovery from this problem. I’ve discovered so many things through Twitter!

    • July 16, 2011 4:40 am

      I’m with you on this. I find it hard to keep up and am often tempted to return to my copy of “Winiie the Poo” and forget about any later masterpieces in the making: either written or sung.

      • July 26, 2011 9:36 pm

        Ha, Winnie the Poo was a book?? Damn it, I missed that too!! LOL….
        You’ve reminded me, other cultural references I missed out on include Sesame Street and Winnie the Poo. I lived in Germany during the years I might have become interested in these programs, and they just weren’t available on our programming (in English anyway). Who would I have become if I’d had the teachings of Sesame Street?? 🙂

  14. July 14, 2011 3:38 pm

    Hey Catherine!

    Nice blog….I too love HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER. It took me years to get into it as well. The first three seasons are my favorites! 4,5,6 and 7….not so much. 😛

    This show definitely got me over a hard breakup! You know something is funny when you can sit and watch a show by yourself and laugh your ass off!

    Keep up the good work!

    • July 14, 2011 3:42 pm

      P.S. I just recently wrote a blog about How I Met Your Mother on my site. You’re looking for “Aidan” and I’m looking for Robin Scherbatsky. 🙂

      http://personalsfacts.com/2011/07/05/desperately-seeking-robin-scherbatsky/

      • July 14, 2011 8:30 pm

        Haha, Jimmy, I actually read that one. Robin would be an awesome girlfriend – except her crazy commitment issues 🙂
        I really want Marshall…sigh.

        • July 15, 2011 4:36 pm

          Marshall is the man! I always seem to fall for girls with crazy commitment issues anyway. They always are more motivated and creative I find. Stupid I know! lol

    • July 14, 2011 8:34 pm

      Jimmy,
      DAMN IT! I was really hoping that I had tons of awesome HIMYM episodes to catch up on. Sort of a bummer that the latter seasons aren’t that good. But you are so right, HIMYM is one of the only shows that I can watch and am guaranteed to laugh several times. can’t beat it.

  15. July 14, 2011 4:09 pm

    I thought I was a late arriver for somehow getting to the age of 19 without having seen the Star Wars films… then I worked with a guy who was in his 20s and had never even heard of Star Wars! People used to joke that he grew up in a box – at least I assume they were joking…

    The good thing about arriving late to a series of movies or a TV show is that there’s lots of it ready for you to watch without having to wait years for follow-ups!

    • July 14, 2011 8:29 pm

      Ahhh, Star Wars. I recognize that phenomenon, but I refuse to participate. Which is a little different than being late to it 🙂
      That’s a good point – I can get into a show and buy the whole series on Blue Ray! So really, I’m smarter than everyone else…. right….

  16. July 14, 2011 5:47 pm

    I am definitely a late adopter. I remember as a junior in high school I “discovered” the Smashing Pumpkins and went around asking people if they’d ever heard of them. Imagine my surprise when I learned the band had already broken up! Um, oops?

    I’ve never seen An Officer and a Gentleman (or Harry Potter or Star Wars). I don’t own a pair of skinny jeans. I refuse to wear a maxi dress. I think Mad Men is the only popular TV series that I care to follow.

    I could probably go on, but the Smashing Pumpkins thing is definitely my biggest late-blooming achievement.

    • July 14, 2011 8:28 pm

      LOL, summerslowrunner! That’s foo funny about Smashing Pumpkins. A lot like my Lady Gaga experience 🙂

      I remember a summer in middle school a friend mentioned this band named Hanson. I had just spent the summer with my sister, and she listened to Marilyn Manson. SO – I was convinced my friend was saying it wrong. “It’s MANSON, not HANSON,” I said, feeling quite proud of myself. My friend had to show me the MmmBop video before I believed her 🙂

      I own one pair of skinny jeans. And I just had to Google maxi dress because of your comment. LOL.

  17. July 14, 2011 6:37 pm

    Rounded toes came back like two years ago. 😉

    Bacon isn’t that bad for you if you can show restraint. It’s protein after all. And I’m pretty sure it’s better for you than ice cream. There’s only 60 calories in a slice.

    I’m a very late adopter when it comes to How I Met Your Mother as well…and when I had cable I also switched between channels to watch as many episodes as possible. Now I only get one episode a night…tops. I may have to buy the series on DVD.

    Great idea for a post. I like it!

    • July 14, 2011 8:24 pm

      Haha, Crystal!! Damn it, I missed another one! Hmmm wonder if bacon is better for you than ice cream? The way you argue that bacon is protein, I’ll argue ice cream is dairy. Strong bones! LOL

      I’m thinking of buying the DVDs too, although after posting this today, a few people told me the earlier seasons are better than later. That bums me out a little – I thought I had tons of awesome shows to watch!

  18. Kendra permalink
    July 14, 2011 8:36 pm

    It’s funny that you’re just getting into Harry Potter now, it really is amazing that you managed to put it off this long. I was in 6th grade when I finally (and I mean that, a few of the books were out & a there was the beginning of a strong following) started reading the books. I was hooked instantly, and to this day I swear by the Harry Potter books as a life-changing phenomenon.

    I don’t think I have been too late with very many trends, for me I either like it or I don’t. Or, like your case with Harry Potter, it is possible that I’m oblivious.

    • July 14, 2011 9:21 pm

      Kendra,
      I know, it’s funny that I waited to the last possible second to be part of this trend. It’s just like the royal wedding – I had NO interest in it, until it was already over! haha!
      So, being a HP fan, would you recommend that I stop watching the movies and read the books? They are better, right?

      I think that’s funny – maybe you think you are up on the trends, but really are oblivious. Wouldn’t that be the worst?!

      • Kendra permalink
        July 22, 2011 1:13 am

        The books are incredible. Everyone laughs when I say this, and I don’t blame them for doing so, but the books changed my life. I think Harry Potter is the reason I did so well on the verbal part of my SAT.

        The movies aren’t terrible, but the books offer so much more. You should definitely check them out when you feel like you have the time.

        • July 23, 2011 6:17 pm

          Kendra, I am reading – from the very beginning – and enjoying so far! I’m glad they had such a positive impact on you. I bet many people can say that their school skills, SAT scores, etc., were improved from Harry Potter – there’s no way you are alone on that. And I think it’s amazing!

  19. July 14, 2011 9:14 pm

    I am only a late bloomer to the Harry Potter movies. I just finished the first movie. Now I have to get my lazy butt up to take the movie to the post office so I can get my next movie. I, like the person above, that hate the new prices that will take effect soon to Netflix, I can’t help but keep it. So soon I will see part 2 of HP once I get the new movie. So I will be watching part 7 waaaaaayyyy later than from today. But I don’t want to skip and jump pieces just in case. Officer and a Gentleman. Loved it!!! :0) Maybe you should try a trend before ‘it goes out of style’ see if you like it. If not then you can say well I tried when it was still out. Your post made me giggle a little. :0)

    • July 14, 2011 9:18 pm

      I just got past the second Harry Potter movie, but actually planning to take a break on the movies. I think I’m going to try the books, first, and then the movies. I’m starting with book 3. So, just think, if you think you are going to be watching the 7th movie a long time from now, imagine me – I have to read all the books, watch all the movies and catch up! This could take years! hahaha

      I heard about the price hikes for Netflix, that’s crazy. Sucks. Wish there were competition you could switch to!

      Also, don’t you think I WANT to try a trend before it goes out of style? I’m just so oblivious! You have to stop by here and alert me of new trends so I can get on board. Lol. Deal? 🙂

      • July 14, 2011 9:31 pm

        That’s a deal. :0) Oh and damn the books…hmmm well they are going to have to wait to read those. I’ll watch the movies, then read the books. That is how I’m doing the Twilight movies. Watching then reading. I really believe that books are better than movies. (Well the movies that came from books) OH yeah, ave you seen any of the Twilight movies. That is a trend. :0) Your plan will probably take years…hehe :0) But hey we have jobs and stuff to take care of, right?? :0)

  20. July 15, 2011 4:50 am

    I do love your lists. 🙂

    • July 17, 2011 4:44 pm

      Haha, thanks 🙂 I love making them. It’s so who I am… I make lists for work, home, etc. Why not make lists on the blog? I sort of think of life in terms of lists. Not sure if this is a good thing or not 🙂

  21. July 15, 2011 9:25 am

    I can totally relate to this post. Sometimes I feel like I’m so involved in my day-to-day life with work, friends, and venturing through the city of Chicago just to run errands that I end up way behind the rest of the world in terms of the news and media. My studio apartment has proven helpful for keeping me up on my morning news- now that I can get ready AND watch TV at the same time. Perhaps I’ll stay single forever just so I can watch more Good Morning America.

    • July 18, 2011 9:57 pm

      livebyladybugs,
      I totally feel you on watching TV in the morning while you get ready! I love to listen to CNN or the Today Show while I’m putting on makeup and getting dressed. It’s so frustrating when Chef spends the night and I have to be all kinds of respectful and not blast the TV through the one-bedroom apartment. Now you’ve got me thinking I want a studio – my morning TV viewing experience would be so much better if i had a studio apartment. I think that would be a PLENTY good reason to stay single!!

  22. July 15, 2011 8:06 pm

    Catherine! I’m so glad that you finally got on the bacon bandwagon. Bacon is great, especially if you can find someone, like a chef for instance, who can really cook 😉

    And you’re totally right to start reading Harry Potter at book 3! That’s when they get really good and all the back story and everything comes into play… and when the books got too long to really make into 2 hour movies and still cover everything.

    One trend that I was the last to get in on was the low-rise jeans. Luckily when I started wearing them I was the skinniest I’ve ever been, but until I tried them on I thought they looked so weird. And then 3 months later no one was wearing them. Alas.

    • July 18, 2011 10:01 pm

      Wow, Mandy, and I’m not even being sarcastic here, but I didn’t even think of the possibilities if I had a chef cook the bacon for me. GREAT IDEA! I’m on it.

      I’m really excited about the Harry Potter books. Starting this weekend. Can’t hardly wait.

      On the low rise jeans, I’m gonna need you to just be proud they fit. I don’t think I’ve EVER fit into low rise jeans 🙂

  23. July 15, 2011 11:30 pm

    Ballet flats – I actually wore often a dress silver pair for work…15 yrs. ago. Maybe only thing I was ahead of the game.

    Harry Potter- Yea, I knew all the excitement but not enough to read it. Sat through lst movie on tv for half of it. It’s just not my thing..I would have loved it under 20 yrs. old maybe, knowing me.

    I still haven’t figured out Lady Gaga and her music. Actually i’ve never heard her music yet.

    Low-rise jeans — Really they don’t flatter me. And I’m only 100 lbs. or under. It makes my belly stick out. Forget it. Hence, it took me several years to find a pr. of jeans I liked….mid-rise. Yoga jeans. Perfect.

    Blogging- I’m a librarian by training (though my current job is not that) and to keep my skills current, is to know all types of content management tools (blogware is actually very light tool compared to heavy duty systems that I’m accustomed to). I started into it when I was unemployed and vague pressure to update my skills on par with my colleagues (all types of libraries blend in blog sites with their mega database sites, along with twitter & FB. 2 more tools I have yet to fully exploit.)

    I’m just lazy about trends. Really I’m on my bike often enough that I don’t get off bike to window shop enough. At least I save money. 😀

    My partner doesn’t pretend to know all this stuff but he’s not bad,..does basic web site creation and cycling. Even his daughter hasn’t figured out the above trends: she’s 32 yrs. 🙂

    Hey, cycling in some business circles..is the new golf. Seriously. It’s akin to jogging.

    • July 18, 2011 10:06 pm

      You were sooo ahead of the ballet flats trend! Maybe we should be watching you for what’s next in shoes 🙂
      I wonder if you listened to Lady Gaga if you would like her. It’s pretty upbeat music, could be good for your cycling. I say give it a try. Just Dance and Bad Romance are my faves.
      “Cycling in some business circles is the new golf.” I had NO idea! Thanks for alerting me on that trend. I can do “spinning”—indoors cycling in a class atmosphere—but I’m not sure I’m up to outdoor cycling. Funny thing is, I can’t remember the last time I rode a real bicycle! I’m not aware enough of my surroundings, my riding a bike would most likely have me run into something, or drive into oncoming traffic! I’m probably safer at the gym on a stationary bike. Lol

      • July 21, 2011 12:42 am

        Well, if you drive, then you should be able to bike. But if I can recall, you didn’t consider yourself the greatest driver?

  24. July 16, 2011 4:37 am

    LOts of good stuff in this post but I’m pleased you discovered “An Officer and a Gentleman”. It’s one of my favourite films. On the subject of bacon, which means bacon to mean he said smiling. It’s one of my favourites and a bacon sandwich early on a Saturday morning sets me up for the weekend

    • July 18, 2011 10:02 pm

      LOL, countingducks. “Making bacon” before work on Mondays is my personal favorite… gets the week off just right 🙂

  25. July 16, 2011 5:16 am

    Hi. I’m a newcomer here. I found your blog through a post you left on Jaclyn Rae’s blog. SO, reading through all of these comments I’m quickly learning that when it comes to a trend I AM THE VERY LAST TO KNOW. It looks like your blog is v. trendy, so somethings working.

    Julie

    • July 18, 2011 9:53 pm

      Hello and welcome!! Thanks so much for stopping by. I would hardly say my blog is trendy..hahaha…I’m just super lucky to have some dedicated readers that are great friends!! I hope you come back to visit again, and I’ll be checking out your blog as well!

  26. mom permalink
    July 16, 2011 10:43 am

    Its about time…. I’ve been telling you that forever!!!!

    • July 18, 2011 9:52 pm

      Mom, you’ve been losing me lately. First the hotdog post on Facebook now this comment. What have you been telling me forever?? 🙂

  27. July 16, 2011 3:37 pm

    Hey Cat, don´t worry, you´re not the only last person to see movies. I still havent seen The Matrix, Ocean´s Eleven-15, or any other major movie that has more than one unnecessary part to it. I save these things for snuggling on rainy days.
    I think it´s bold of you to admit you´re getting more and more into sex! I actually started smoking weed here in Costa Rica (and can´t get enough), and I was thinking should I blog about it (eek!) I actually love reading about sex more than anything.
    And in terms of shows, you should try watching Parenthood- it changed my life.
    Keep these posts coming, soon you´ll be so popular people will understand when you don´t respond to every comment. 🙂

    • July 18, 2011 9:50 pm

      LOL, shetraces! I was a little nervous to post that I have been enjoying sex more…but it’s human, right? Is weed legal in Costa Rica? The only thing for me is I would be hesitant to write about anything illegal! 🙂 But that would be pretty courageous to write about – you already made one step by commenting about it!
      I’ll check out Parenthood – thanks for the tip!! Hahaha – not responding to every comment. That’ll be the day. The thing is, I really WANT to respond to about 99 percent of the comments…. my readers are so great and provide such perspective….but it’s that 1 percent that get me down. But I can’t just not respond to 1 percent! 🙂

      • July 26, 2011 6:22 pm

        Let´s just say, it´s not illegal, but it is. For the most part, in the beach towns it´s a favorite past time so as long as you´re in a private place minding your business…you´re fine. And I quit this weekend, I don´t want to get addicted (Amy Winehouse persuaded me).
        I bet your life has not been the same since Freshly Pressed! I want to be like you one day!

        • July 26, 2011 9:39 pm

          I hear you on Amy Winehouse. Gotta tell you though, I’ve never heard of anyone overdosing and dying from marijuana…. But, it can be a gateway drug. Probably for the best that you are aware 🙂

          Ha, the Freshly Pressed thing is so awesome because I’ve met so many new people! Makes me excited about the blog a little more, for sure!

  28. July 18, 2011 7:04 am

    First thnigs first ! How do you squeeze in so much patience and time to write such a huge post?!!!!?! When I was about to finish I almost forgot what you’d written in the beginning! Don’t get me wrong I’m just admiring your writing skills.Best use of words and all . I’m bad at writing you see. Hmm…I laughed at ‘ being employed is hard’ !!! Your adorably cute!:D
    Your Superheroine Personality
    Obviously, you kick butt. But which butt kicking superheroine are you most like?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/superheroinepersonality/superheroinepersonality_instructions.asp

    • July 18, 2011 9:43 pm

      LOL, Kate! That’s why I can only manage to write one post a week. It’s actually a problem for me – I aspire to write shorter posts, but then I get all crazy and write waaay more than intended. I’m glad you enjoy it, but I don’t want people to forget what I’m writing about, lol!
      I checked out the superheroine test. Apparently, I’m Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’ll take that. She’s one hot chic. 🙂 Which were you?
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      • July 26, 2011 6:26 pm

        You´re so cute, I would have def deleted that cheap shot at spam! lol

        • July 26, 2011 9:40 pm

          LOL – I honestly couldn’t decide if it was spam or not! hahaha! Pretty sure it was a for real comment – that just felt a little spammy – so I responded 🙂

        • July 27, 2011 1:47 pm

          That sounded like a blog post, When People Get Spammy. I guess we all do it. lol

  29. mr. smith permalink
    July 18, 2011 8:51 pm

    Mr. Smith
    So Gere is cute with grey hair. Intriguing. Perhaps your walls are coming down.

    I thought I would point out a few other things you may have missed:

    1. Sliced bread – this apparently has taken the world by storm, good with jam i hear.
    2. Fire – good for us, bad for Prometheus.
    3. Air – Not the thing you breath but the awesome electronic band from France.
    4. 1980 – no worries it’s coming back.
    5. My number – it still works. 🙂

    Glad to know you are still expanding your boundaries. And thanks for the breakfast suggestion, I might make some bacon.

    -mr. smith.

    • July 18, 2011 9:38 pm

      Mr. Smith,
      You are funny. I love how you swoop in during opportune times. Sliced bread? How’d I miss that?? I’m on it. Pretty good with Nutella too, by the way.
      Glad to know your # still works. We’ll have to catch up!

  30. July 19, 2011 1:37 pm

    Seriously…64 comments? How does a guy compete?

    To be honest with you, I don’t know which would be worse…culturally inept or being culturally…ept?

    Sometimes I am too plugged in and I know stuff I didn’t even know I knew or how I learned it.

    I think I have Pop Culture wifi in my brain.

    • July 19, 2011 10:28 pm

      Haha, Matthew. Important to note – half those comments are my replies. 🙂
      I think at least if you are culturally ept, you have plenty of cocktail party conversation. Every time someone asks me if I’ve seen a movie, heard a song, spot some new fashion trend, the answer is almost always, no. And the thing is, it’s not because I’m *so above all of that.* It’s just because I’m oblivious to all that. I’m always so behind!! But not for lack of trying! LOL 🙂 But I know what you mean about feeling too plugged in.

  31. July 20, 2011 11:19 am

    I totally know what you mean! I have a friend who always knows bands before they’re famous. I remember when she liked Maroon 5 and I was like, “Who are they?” Cut to a year later when they were on the radio and all anyone could talk about. Oops.

    I just bought a big flat screen tv…and I might be the last person on Earth to have made the leap to that. I replaced a dinosaur tube TV…was waiting for it to die before getting on the flat screen bandwagon!

    And iPods? Um, I believe when the iPod/MP3 player came out, I was still proudly using my cassette walkman, no joke. Of course, I now own an iPod/iPhone, etc., but still!

    • July 23, 2011 6:30 pm

      Congrast on the flat screen!! I’m the same way as you – I like to wait for things to break so I feel like I need something new. I would just saw we are smart 🙂
      Haha about your walkman! My CD walkman had broken years ago, but I’m sort of cheap, and it’s not often that I feel like I really need something. I wouldn’t have an ipod right now if my ex hadn’t bought it for me!

  32. July 21, 2011 12:41 am

    I don’t have a tv right now and don’t plan to get one. So maybe that will really get me out of touch with trends.

    • July 26, 2011 9:33 pm

      Jean, I think I might die without a TV. Okay, not really. But I do enjoy TV – helps me unwind!

  33. Random Cook permalink
    July 21, 2011 2:56 pm

    It’s called “The Goonies”. Watch it, love it, know it, live it.

Trackbacks

  1. Stopping the Negativity « Simply Solo: Single girl starting over – follow the journey

Leave a comment